AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jmcfaddn
Posts: 399
Registered: ‎12-01-2003
Message 1 of 8 (131 Views)

Enormous File Size, 9meg for a 67K SF building?

131 Views, 7 Replies
08-19-2003 10:54 PM
I'm working on the HVAC of a 67K SF office building. Redrawing the HVAC into BS2004. For some reason my file size jumped from 3meg to 9 meg just like that. Every so often it will save back to 3meg but then jump back up to 9meg again. What would cause this?
I'm only about 30% complete with this drawing and the file size is already getting way too big. My PC, (256MegRAM, 2 Gighz) is just crawling.
Distinguished Contributor
jmcfaddn
Posts: 399
Registered: ‎12-01-2003
Message 2 of 8 (131 Views)

Re: Enormous File Size, 9meg for a 67K SF building?

08-20-2003 11:23 PM in reply to: jmcfaddn
Now today I perform a save and my file size is back to 3meg. Nothing was done to the file to make it smaller. This software is screwy. The only thing that was different is that BS2004 was the only program open at the time. Most other times I'll have Internet Explorer open, Netscape, and maybe excel or word open as well.
Distinguished Contributor
jmcfaddn
Posts: 399
Registered: ‎12-01-2003
Message 3 of 8 (131 Views)

Re:

08-21-2003 02:54 AM in reply to: jmcfaddn
oop!! Now my file is back up to 10meg! What is the deal????
I did start IE and Netscape but man I can't think that would have anything to do with it.
*P.Temporale
Message 4 of 8 (131 Views)

Re: Enormous File Size, 9meg for a 67K SF building?

08-21-2003 08:18 PM in reply to: jmcfaddn

style="FONT-SIZE: 12pt; FONT-FAMILY: 'Times New Roman'; mso-fareast-font-family: 'Times New Roman'; mso-ansi-language: EN-US; mso-fareast-language: EN-US; mso-bidi-language: AR-SA">Building
Systems 2004 drawings are ridiculously large. I have a 22K SQFT floor of a
school that is 28.3 megs.  All I
have in the file is plumbing and HVAC piping and it’s still not complete.
style="mso-spacerun: yes"> 
The building, duct, and structural are
all Xrefed in.  I purge this drawing
every couple of hours.  My system
uses an AMD 3000 with 1.5 gig of ram, it is taking 3 to 4 minutes to open the
drawing and I usually play a couple of games of Free Cell during a regen.
style="mso-spacerun: yes"> 
The file crashes about once every
hour.  When it crashes I have been
monitoring my ram and it never drops below 200 megs.
style="mso-spacerun: yes"> 
I did notice that when IE is open BS is
sure to crash and it takes IE with it, requiring a reboot of the system.
style="mso-spacerun: yes"> 
When this floor of the project is
complete I am going back to BS 3.3. 
That version seems to run a little better.


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I'm
working on the HVAC of a 67K SF office building. Redrawing the HVAC into
BS2004. For some reason my file size jumped from 3meg to 9 meg just like that.
Every so often it will save back to 3meg but then jump back up to 9meg again.
What would cause this?
I'm only about 30% complete with this drawing and
the file size is already getting way too big. My PC, (256MegRAM, 2 Gighz) is
just crawling.
Distinguished Contributor
jmcfaddn
Posts: 399
Registered: ‎12-01-2003
Message 5 of 8 (131 Views)

Re:

08-22-2003 12:20 AM in reply to: jmcfaddn
What I don't get is why my file is 3 meg one day and 9meg the next?? That's crazy!! You are right, it seems way out there, but I think the file size fluctuates with which programs I have running in the background. If my resources are low it appears the file size gets very large. Does that sound nutty or what?
*[Autodesk], Lars-Ake Johansson
Message 6 of 8 (131 Views)

Re: Enormous File Size, 9meg for a 67K SF building?

08-29-2003 03:07 AM in reply to: jmcfaddn
Hi,

 

One simple answer could be the view and display
representation that was active when you saved the drawing.

A drawing saved in plan view with 2-Line is much
smaller that a drawing saved in an Iso-view with Model view active.

 

In a test drawing I have, the plan view is about
3Mb but if I save it in a 3D Iso view, it's about 10 Mb.

 

 

 

As a note: Your memory is under the recommended
memory size for running ADT/ABS. The recommended minimum is 512 Mb but I would
recommend that you upgrade that to at least 1024 Mb.

 

/Lars-Ake Johansson

Autodesk BSD QA

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I'm
working on the HVAC of a 67K SF office building. Redrawing the HVAC into
BS2004. For some reason my file size jumped from 3meg to 9 meg just like that.
Every so often it will save back to 3meg but then jump back up to 9meg again.
What would cause this?
I'm only about 30% complete with this drawing and
the file size is already getting way too big. My PC, (256MegRAM, 2 Gighz) is
just crawling.
*Capper, Robin
Message 7 of 8 (131 Views)

Re:

08-29-2003 12:06 PM in reply to: jmcfaddn
Do proxy settings alter this
behaviour?



style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">

Hi,

 

One simple answer could be the view and display
representation that was active when you saved the drawing.

A drawing saved in plan view with 2-Line is much
smaller that a drawing saved in an Iso-view with Model view
active.

 

In a test drawing I have, the plan view is about
3Mb but if I save it in a 3D Iso view, it's about 10 Mb.

 

 

 

As a note: Your memory is under the recommended
memory size for running ADT/ABS. The recommended minimum is 512 Mb but I would
recommend that you upgrade that to at least 1024 Mb.

 

/Lars-Ake Johansson

Autodesk BSD QA

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I'm
working on the HVAC of a 67K SF office building. Redrawing the HVAC into
BS2004. For some reason my file size jumped from 3meg to 9 meg just like
that. Every so often it will save back to 3meg but then jump back up to 9meg
again. What would cause this?
I'm only about 30% complete with this
drawing and the file size is already getting way too big. My PC, (256MegRAM,
2 Gighz) is just crawling.
*[Autodesk], jason martin
Message 8 of 8 (131 Views)

Re:

08-29-2003 01:41 PM in reply to: jmcfaddn
No, proxy settings would have nothing to do with this behavior. The settings
under Options -> Building Systems Crossed Objects -> Increase Drawing open
... would affect this.

jason

"Robin Capper" wrote in message
news:637D16362CDF1E4D92F29FAF538F3639@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Do proxy settings alter this behaviour?
>
> --
> Regards,
> Robin Capper
> Email; robin.capper.design@xtra.co.nz or robin.capper@thewarehouse.co.nz
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.