AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
anovelli
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎05-18-2004
Message 1 of 4 (374 Views)

Do MEP Objects Respect the Cut Plane?

374 Views, 3 Replies
01-18-2008 06:22 PM
This is hopefully a very simple question. I think I know the answer. Just wanted fellow AUGI Users take on this. Do the MEP Objects (Pipe, Fittings, MV Parts,etc) respect the Cut Plane Feature? So far I think the answer is NO since I have fiddled with it and was NOT able to get ANY MEP Objects to display properly when I changed the CUT PLANE values. The Architecture Objects DO respect the cut plane and seem to work. But the MEP Objects do NOT cooperate. Any thoughts or conformation on this? Please let me know. I am using Architecture and MEP 2008. Thanks!
Employee
martin.schmid
Posts: 1,297
Registered: ‎11-16-2005
Message 2 of 4 (374 Views)

Re: Do MEP Objects Respect the Cut Plane?

01-20-2008 03:23 PM in reply to: anovelli
The answer is yes and no.

In general, the MEP objects do NOT respect the cut plane, however, new in 2008 is the ability for Duct domain componets (ducts, flex ducts, duct fittings, custom duct fittings) to 'display by elevation'. (Options > MEP Display Control > Enable Display by Elevation).

Refer to the documentation for more information.

HTH,
MS


Martin Schmid, P.E.
Product Manager - Revit MEP
Architecture, Engineering, and Construction
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
anovelli
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎05-18-2004
Message 3 of 4 (374 Views)

Re: Do MEP Objects Respect the Cut Plane?

01-21-2008 07:23 AM in reply to: anovelli
Thanks for response. Are there any plans to add this capability into the next Version of MEP 2009? It would make cutting the 2D Plans MUCH easier. Please let me know.
Valued Contributor
SLDBrown
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎08-19-2005
Message 4 of 4 (249 Views)

Re: Do MEP Objects Respect the Cut Plane?

09-18-2012 12:14 PM in reply to: anovelli

Hello,

I know I'm late to this party but my issue is partialy relevant. I am using MEP 2012. I established my Cut Plane variables but not all my piping shows.The pipes are from the same pipe system but some show and some don't. the Cut Plane isn't showing me any respect. Any thoughts?

 

Regards,

Steve 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.