Community
AutoCAD MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Device (block based parts) with predefine TAG, device ID or Attribute

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
jaydee
404 Views, 4 Replies

Device (block based parts) with predefine TAG, device ID or Attribute

Hi
Im new to ABS and in the near future will be porting it to MEP2008.
My understanding is that the ABS devices could not possibly created with Attdef. and i think attributes in blocks been replaced with ID labels or TAG.
My question is, is there a way of creating the device with some kind editable text attache to the device just like the old attdef(attributes) attache to the block, and when adding device into the drawing and the (attribute like) come with the device so to avoid doubling the procedure by attached a separate tag to the device.
Any help of pointing to the right direction are greatly appriciated.
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
in reply to: jaydee

You will need to learn about the creation of Property sets, here is an overview of the process for a style based property set:

Open the Device Style Drawing for example "Lighting - Fluorescent (US Imperial).dwg"

Open the Style Manager

Create a Property Set that applies to Device Styles

Create Properties in the Property Set for the "attributes" you need

Open the Device Style in the Style Manager, on the General tab click on the button named property sets

Attach the property set and fill in any information you need

save and close the drawing

insert the device, the property set should come with the device with the information filled in and available for modification

The information attached to the object via the property set can now be referenced by a MvBlock (tag).

Drew
North Vancouver
Message 3 of 5
jaydee

Thankyou Drew for your advise.