AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
TravelTheWorld
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎12-01-2009
Message 1 of 3 (365 Views)
Accepted Solution

Creating an Electrical device by modifying the built-in devices

365 Views, 2 Replies
12-01-2011 12:34 PM

Hi all,

 

I have been trying to create an wall mounted occupancy switch device by manipulating one of the switch blocks in "Switches (US Imperial)" dwg file, however, my identification text appears too small when I insert it on a drawing.

 

All I did was to go to Electrical Device Style and made a copy of Weather Proof Switch and modified WP_M_P block and saved it as OC_M_P since I needed OC identification/designation right next to my switch.

 

The problem is that the text "OC" appears too small to read when inserted on a drawing, and I am not sure what is causing this problem.

 

Any input would be appreciated.

 

Thank you,

 

Jason

It is actually a pretty easy fix on this one ... If you look at the Text1 setup on the original Weatherproof Switch you will notice that the 'Use Annotation Scale' is checked while your new Occupancy Sensor will likely not be checked.

 

This is caused by the way the text block (WP_M_P) was originally created. Since it was a standard block and not an annotative block from the beginning when you made a copy and assigned it to your new sensor it reset back to the default and removed the annotative property from the device.

 

There is a method to set the annotative scaling on by default ... using your OC_M_P as an example, when you were editing your block in the block editor there is was an option to make the block annotative on the properties tab.

Indeed the annotation scale was unchecked. How did I miss this?

Thank you sooooo much,

Jason

Valued Contributor
rmiller1973
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 2 of 3 (329 Views)

Re: Creating an Electrical device by modifying the built-in devices

12-02-2011 06:53 AM in reply to: TravelTheWorld

It is actually a pretty easy fix on this one ... If you look at the Text1 setup on the original Weatherproof Switch you will notice that the 'Use Annotation Scale' is checked while your new Occupancy Sensor will likely not be checked.

 

This is caused by the way the text block (WP_M_P) was originally created. Since it was a standard block and not an annotative block from the beginning when you made a copy and assigned it to your new sensor it reset back to the default and removed the annotative property from the device.

 

There is a method to set the annotative scaling on by default ... using your OC_M_P as an example, when you were editing your block in the block editor there is was an option to make the block annotative on the properties tab.

Active Contributor
TravelTheWorld
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎12-01-2009
Message 3 of 3 (327 Views)

Re: Creating an Electrical device by modifying the built-in devices

12-02-2011 07:05 AM in reply to: TravelTheWorld

Indeed the annotation scale was unchecked. How did I miss this?

Thank you sooooo much,

Jason

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.