AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
mdhutchinson
Posts: 2,321
Registered: ‎11-18-2003
Message 1 of 5 (274 Views)
Accepted Solution

Company MEP catalogs Network located and read-only

274 Views, 4 Replies
03-29-2012 07:09 AM

What are the Pros and Cons of having network located company MEP Catalogs set to Read-Only?

 

The only con I can find is that the user cannot regenerate the catalog.

Is this a valid arg for leaving it Read-Only?

 

Someone that has access to the catalogs will of course have to regen them first.  I am assuming that whoever will be responsible for adding new parts will do this.  If you use content builder or the catalog manager they will update the catalog xml file when you add new parts.  In this case the catalogregen only needs to be done in order to add the new parts to the in memory representation of the catalog in Autocad MEP.  Restarting Autocad MEP will accomplish the same thing as it will reread the information from the xml file.

 

If you add parts to your catalog by just dumping the xml, dwg, and the bmp into the desired folder then the catalogs will have to be regened by the catalogregen command.  This will make sure that the correct information is added to the catalog apc file.

 

This is the behavior that I have noticed when using catalogs.  I could of course always be incorrect. :-)

 

I do know for a fact that if it is a networked catalog and at least one person regens the catalog (the person with read access) then all others will only need to restart autocad mep to get the new information.

*Expert Elite*
Keith.Brown
Posts: 1,236
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 2 of 5 (273 Views)

Re: Company MEP catalogs Network located and read-only

03-29-2012 07:16 AM in reply to: mdhutchinson

I myself prefer to leave them read only also.  This will stop cold anyone trying to add to the catalog or making changes that does not have the access rights.  I have run into to many incidents where someone has gone in and changed a key parameter because they were not sure of what they were doing.  Or worse yet, delete something accidently.  I think the added protection outweighs catalogregen not working.  You can easily get around that by restarting autocad.  If a key change was made to a catalog, an email could be sent out instructing employees to restart autocad mep or a message could be sent out through the communications center saying the same thing if you happen to use that functionality.


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
mdhutchinson
Posts: 2,321
Registered: ‎11-18-2003
Message 3 of 5 (270 Views)

Re: Company MEP catalogs Network located and read-only

03-29-2012 07:33 AM in reply to: Keith.Brown

Work-a-round for catalogregen not working... restarting AutoCAD works?

 

I want to copy over new mvpart content to another office... I thought about only copying over only the bmp, xml and dwg file. But to incorporate the new file a catalogregen would have to be done... right?    This wouldn't work to tell the users just to close a restart AutoCAD?  Would it? 

*Expert Elite*
Keith.Brown
Posts: 1,236
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 4 of 5 (267 Views)

Re: Company MEP catalogs Network located and read-only

03-29-2012 08:05 AM in reply to: mdhutchinson

Someone that has access to the catalogs will of course have to regen them first.  I am assuming that whoever will be responsible for adding new parts will do this.  If you use content builder or the catalog manager they will update the catalog xml file when you add new parts.  In this case the catalogregen only needs to be done in order to add the new parts to the in memory representation of the catalog in Autocad MEP.  Restarting Autocad MEP will accomplish the same thing as it will reread the information from the xml file.

 

If you add parts to your catalog by just dumping the xml, dwg, and the bmp into the desired folder then the catalogs will have to be regened by the catalogregen command.  This will make sure that the correct information is added to the catalog apc file.

 

This is the behavior that I have noticed when using catalogs.  I could of course always be incorrect. :-)

 

I do know for a fact that if it is a networked catalog and at least one person regens the catalog (the person with read access) then all others will only need to restart autocad mep to get the new information.


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
mdhutchinson
Posts: 2,321
Registered: ‎11-18-2003
Message 5 of 5 (264 Views)

Re: Company MEP catalogs Network located and read-only

03-29-2012 08:40 AM in reply to: mdhutchinson

Thanks confirmation... this is as I thought.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.