AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
New Member
ElMarote
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-20-2009
Message 1 of 6 (353 Views)

Cable Tray and Conduit

353 Views, 5 Replies
02-20-2009 11:10 AM
Hi everydoby! I need someone help because I can't asignate wires to a cable tray nor a conduit pipe block.

I've inserted the panel, the equipment, also I've draw the cable tray, but when I try to conect everything with a wire it doesn't work at all. I need to asignate a tag to the wire and link it with the piece of cable tray or the conduit pipe.

Any help will be deeply thanked.

Sorry if there's some misspelling in the writing.

Best regards.
Employee
gregg.stanley
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎01-19-2006
Message 2 of 6 (353 Views)

Re: Cable Tray and Conduit

02-20-2009 04:36 PM in reply to: ElMarote
At this time Cable Tray and Conduit do not support the connect of wires to them. We are aware of this issue.

Thank you,

Gregg Stanley
AutoCAD MEP QA


Gregg Stanley
QA Analyst
AEC
Autodesk, Inc.

Mentor
RedMan77
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 3 of 6 (353 Views)

Re: Cable Tray and Conduit

02-23-2009 11:19 AM in reply to: ElMarote
Mr. Stanley,
Is this ever going to happen in a future release of MEP? In Revit MEP there isnt even the ability to draw electrical conduit much less assigning circuits to cable tray so I use AutoCAD MEP as best I can. I cant use plumbing pipes as electrical in Revit because outside dimensions are different. Noticing the lack of tutorials, lack of material on the net, & very few reseller classes in AutoCAD MEP scheduled, it is pretty easy to see that Autodesk has no intention of making these changes. If they have I havent seen it even from the classes that were offered at this years AU. There were a couple but not much. Is that a fair assessment? Edited by: robertmccarty1542 on Feb 23, 2009 11:19 AM
Distinguished Contributor
tobysmith
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎02-01-2006
Message 4 of 6 (353 Views)

Re: Cable Tray and Conduit

02-23-2009 12:16 PM in reply to: ElMarote
Autodesk is a publicly-traded company and because of this, we're prohibited by Federal law from commenting on planned future functionality as people may try to base future purchase decisions on "planned" items. With that being said, I can say, "No, your message was not a fair assessment."

The features we choose (or not choose) to focus on for a particular release are dictated largely by customer request and feedback. We do quite a bit of customer interviews and surveys as well as monitoring the discussion forums. Many people are not also not aware the planning cycle for a release is generally 1-2 years ahead of the actual product release. While the features of the next release are not yet "set in stone" there may or may not be much leeway to focus on the "hot topic" of discussion.

My background is in the Electrical discipline (I spent nine years working at a couple of different MEP firms before joining Autodesk) and I can tell you there is work needed to be done for conduits and cable tray in the future. Sorry I cannot provide more a definitive timeframe but market requirements shift on a constant basis. As more users request improved functionality in this area, you can be sure it will rise to the top of the priority list.

Hope that helps,

Toby Smith, PE, LEED AP
AutoCAD MEP Product Manager
Member
davestankus
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-24-2009
Message 5 of 6 (353 Views)

Re: Cable Tray and Conduit

02-24-2009 12:58 PM in reply to: ElMarote
This same question and Autodesk response has carried on at least since 2004 MEP.
We have an electrical program that can't-refuses-to draw conduit correctly.
Why should anyone subscribe?
Dave Stankus
Mentor
RedMan77
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 6 of 6 (353 Views)

Re: Cable Tray and Conduit

02-24-2009 01:06 PM in reply to: ElMarote
I agree with this issue since 2004. I understand part of what what was said by the Autodesk folks. What I vehmently disagee with is that the features included in the program are driven by customer demands. I beleive that is true of vanilla Autocad but not the verticals. Their always seems to be features that no firm would implement yet ones needed are excluded. Drawing conduit properly is huge and I have seen people clammoring for this yet nothing has been done. Hopefully it will be in the future.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.