AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
mjmpe
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎02-14-2011
Message 1 of 3 (391 Views)

AUTOCAD MEP DRWG STEEL

391 Views, 2 Replies
12-05-2012 09:51 AM

I AM USING AUTOCAD MEP 2013. I WANT TO DRAW SOME STEEL IN MY DRWG. DOES THIS PROGRAM OFFER ANYTHING LIKE THAT? OR HOW WOULD I GO ABOUT LOADING IT AND WHERE WOULD I GET IF FROM IF I WAS TO LOAD IT MYSELF?

THANK YOU

MAUREEN

*Expert Elite*
Keith.Brown
Posts: 1,239
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 2 of 3 (360 Views)

Re: AUTOCAD MEP DRWG STEEL

12-08-2012 12:39 PM in reply to: mjmpe

The first place i would start is the Help file.  If you would do a search of the help file or even google it there is a wealth of information to be had.

 

You will need to look at a couple of commands.

 

BeamAdd

ColumnAdd

 

These commands will add a structural style horizontally and vertically.  Steel like everything else in MEP is based on a style.  You will need to have a certain style in your drawing in order to represent the beam or column correctly.  You can add styles to your current dwg by using the structural catalog.  You can start the catalog dialog with the _AecsMemberCatalog command.  Select the style you want and it will add it to your current drawing.  You can create your own custom styles manually or by using the Structural style wizard accessed with the _AecsMemberStyleWizard.

 

Hopefully this will get you started drawing steel components in Autocad MEP.


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!
*Expert Elite*
Keith.Brown
Posts: 1,239
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 3 of 3 (357 Views)

Re: AUTOCAD MEP DRWG STEEL

12-08-2012 12:43 PM in reply to: Keith.Brown

I forgot to mention that you need to have the architectural module installed also.  If you don't have it installed you can run the setup program again and make sure to select the architectural option.


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.