AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
mahlke.leslye
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
Message 1 of 19 (5,492 Views)
Accepted Solution

Area Command in AutoCAD MEP 2013

5492 Views, 18 Replies
05-03-2012 08:38 AM

The "Area" command does not work in AutoCAD MEP 2013.  It allows you to select your points, but does not finish the command...does not offer a total area quantity.  Does anyone know of a fix for this problem?

We found something that may help.  Your video, on the command line you have only one line of prompt history showing.  So when the AREA command goes to report the AREA you cannot see it.  The command tries to display the total area at the mouse crosshair.  Then when Dynamic Dimensions are enabled, it overrides that pop up at the crosshair and so you end up not observing the Area reported anywhere. 

 

So turn off Dynamic Dimensions down near the Osnap toggle buttons.  On the command line palette, is a wrench symbol containing the command line settings.  In the settings is "Lines of prompt history."  Default value is to have 3 lines.  Let's see if those changes help.

 

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 2 of 19 (5,455 Views)

Re: Area Command in AutoCAD MEP 2013

05-08-2012 12:21 PM in reply to: mahlke.leslye

The Area command in 2013 works fine here.  Can you make us a Jing video (Free at:  www.jingproject.com).



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
mahlke.leslye
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
Message 3 of 19 (5,428 Views)

Re: Area Command in AutoCAD MEP 2013

05-10-2012 01:37 PM in reply to: Joshua.Benoist

As you requested, I've tried to attach a Jing video, but your system tells me that ".swf" is not a valid extension for an attachment.  I'm really quite baffled, as I have two seats of AutoCAD MEP 2013 where the Area Command does not complete the action.  Any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you!

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 4 of 19 (5,426 Views)

Re: Area Command in AutoCAD MEP 2013

05-10-2012 01:40 PM in reply to: mahlke.leslye

Jing allows you to upload the video to Screencast and it automatically generates a link and puts in your clipboard.  You can paste the link straight into a forum message.



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
mahlke.leslye
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
Message 5 of 19 (5,424 Views)

Re: Area Command in AutoCAD MEP 2013

05-10-2012 01:46 PM in reply to: mahlke.leslye

http://screencast.com/t/Yjr1kXd0

 

Can you view this video now?

 

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 6 of 19 (5,422 Views)

Re: Area Command in AutoCAD MEP 2013

05-10-2012 01:53 PM in reply to: mahlke.leslye

I was able to view it.  Thank you for making that.  Watch your command line.  The command has command line options that you can select.  It defaults to <Area>.  When you get to the last node, tap the enter key and it will tell you the area.  There are other command line options to subtract from the shape, which is great if you have an island out in the middle you want to subtract from the overall area.  Add is another option.  So you can add other separate areas to sum a total area.  Anytime you want to exit the command, select the <Area> and it gives you the total.  Note:  In 2013, all command options are selectable with the mouse, or you can type the highlighted letter with the keyboard and tap enter.

 

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
mahlke.leslye
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
Message 7 of 19 (5,421 Views)

Re: Area Command in AutoCAD MEP 2013

05-10-2012 02:04 PM in reply to: mahlke.leslye

I really hate to sound like an idiot, but mine still does not work as you say it should.  I just do not get a final total.

Active Member
mahlke.leslye
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
Message 8 of 19 (5,403 Views)

Re: Area Command in AutoCAD MEP 2013

05-11-2012 09:23 AM in reply to: mahlke.leslye

We are still having no success when it comes to our Area Command actually offering a final total.  I did a little sleuthing, and it found a thread of someone else having this same problem a month ago.  Surely there must be some way to fix this...  See below for the thread I found...

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2012/Area-boundary-can-t-close/td-p/3408027/page/2

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 9 of 19 (5,400 Views)

Re: Area Command in AutoCAD MEP 2013

05-11-2012 09:28 AM in reply to: mahlke.leslye

You are attempting to get the total; area for some objects.  Pick a point.  What is the UCS location for any point on those objects?  What is the drawing units for distance and Area?  Precision?



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
mahlke.leslye
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
Message 10 of 19 (5,398 Views)

Re: Area Command in AutoCAD MEP 2013

05-11-2012 09:46 AM in reply to: mahlke.leslye

Here you go...

 

Let me know if you need more information...

 

http://screencast.com/t/UdsMu1NUfG

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!