AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
tonyatrsm
Posts: 186
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 1 of 4 (757 Views)
Accepted Solution

3D Pipe in Xref

757 Views, 3 Replies
01-10-2013 07:22 AM

I am currently coordinating duct and pipe on a project. We did the coordination in 3D using Navis and now I am getting the 2D drawings set up for the installers. I have all their separate drawings plotted out (SM, P, MP, MG) and now I want to plot a set for each discipline showing the other disciplines overlaid. Everything worked fine when I inserted the duct into the plumbing drawings as an xref but now I am in the duct drawing and when I xref the pipe in it just shows up like a 2D line drawing instead of showing the actual width of the pipes. Is there a display setting I need to change?

 

On another subject, when I set up the separate sheets for the plumbing drawings, how can I NOT show pipe breaks from viewport to viewport? Since plumbing, MP, and med gas were all drawn on the same dwg file it wants to show the pipe breaks without the pipe being shown in that viewport (ie: plumbing sheet has breaks in the domestic pipe where the med gas pipe is even though med gas isn't shown in that viewport). I would still like to see pipe breaks for all the pipe shown in that viewport, just not the pipe on frozen layers.

 

Using ACAD MEP 2013 on a 64 bit machine if that matters...

 

Thanks in advance for any help on these issues!

Hi Tony,

We wanted to follow up and see if the above suggestion by Stu helped.

Joshua

 

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 2 of 4 (721 Views)

Re: 3D Pipe in Xref

01-16-2013 08:59 AM in reply to: tonyatrsm

Please attach us some sample files and screen grabs.  That will give us a better idea of what is happening.

 

Thanks,

Joshua

 

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
s.lawrence
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎04-18-2011
Message 3 of 4 (710 Views)

Re: 3D Pipe in Xref

01-17-2013 02:22 AM in reply to: tonyatrsm

Hi Tony,


Sounds like you have the same problems as me. I think that by using different workspaces you can make the disciplines show properly, however, what I do is to click into the viewort of the drawing that is showing with unwanted breaks, run OBJRELUPDATE on the Xref I need to update, and then do a regen. This works for me and enables me to print out what I want. The only downside is that this has to be done in each viewport and each time the drawing is opened.

 

With regards to showing pipe single line/double line, this is set in the style manager. Expand 'piping objects', 'Pipe system definitions' and find the service you want double lined. Then take a tick out of the 'Display pipe and inline/anchored components as single line displays'. This will need to be done in the Xref too.

 

HTH,

Stu

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 4 of 4 (680 Views)

Re: 3D Pipe in Xref

01-22-2013 12:47 PM in reply to: s.lawrence

Hi Tony,

We wanted to follow up and see if the above suggestion by Stu helped.

Joshua

 

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.