AutoCAD Mechanical General Discussion

AutoCAD Mechanical General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
6 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Post 1 of 9

ViewCube in 2D wireframe

1228 Views, 8 Replies
05-31-2012 09:39 AM

I am trying to get the Viewcube to stay visible in all visual styles of model space, including the 2D wireframe. I prefer to do most of my modeling in 2D because it is less jittery and has better visual characteristics than 3D wireframe (could be my computer's graphics card but nonetheless). Can anyone be of any help on this? Version Mechanical 2010.

Product Support
113 Posts
6 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
Post 2 of 9

Re: ViewCube in 2D wireframe

06-01-2012 01:20 PM in reply to: blafever

In AutoCAD Mechanical 2010, the VIEWCUBE is only available in a 3d view (IE: 3d wireframe, Conceptual, Realistic, etc…).  A solution to your situation would be to create a custom toolbar that would include the same functions as the VIEWCUBE.  To create a custom tool bar in AutoCAD Mechanical 2010, use the following steps which can be found in the Help File. You will want to open the Help dialog box, type "toolbar" into the search engine, click on "Create and Edit Toolbars (Concept)", and then click on "Procedure" (see attached image).




Steve Bessette
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
212 Posts
6 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-16-2012
Post 3 of 9

Re: ViewCube in 2D wireframe

07-24-2013 12:44 PM in reply to: Steve_Bessette

why is the viewcube available in 2d wireframe in Drawing Trueview (a free program) but not in AutoCAD Mechanical?

Valued Mentor
458 Posts
27 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2011
Post 4 of 9

Re: ViewCube in 2D wireframe

07-26-2013 12:01 AM in reply to: nstalker

Options > 3D Modelling > Display the ViewCube > Check on "2D Wireframe visual style" > Apply/Ok

 

And you'll have what you're asking for.

 

We have the viewcube on as a default because even though we work 2D, not all our customers do and it's a quick way to check if a drawing is 2D or 3D, 2D at a Z-axis offset, 2D on the YZ plane etc

 

Also it is a workaround for the bug that blocks the closing X of the drawing in the top right corner.

Distinguished Contributor
212 Posts
6 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-16-2012
Post 5 of 9

Re: ViewCube in 2D wireframe

07-26-2013 04:39 AM in reply to: acwtzwegers

Excellent!  Thanks for the info!:smileyhappy:

Active Member
6 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Post 6 of 9

Re: ViewCube in 2D wireframe

07-26-2013 04:56 AM in reply to: acwtzwegers

I don't have the "2D Wireframe visual style" box to check in Mechanical 2010. This is what I have 

 

AutoCAD Options Dialog Box.png

Active Member
6 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Post 7 of 9

Re: ViewCube in 2D wireframe

07-26-2013 05:00 AM in reply to: blafever

And the "ViewCube" button in the lower right brings up this:

 

AutoCAD ViewCube Dialog Box.png

Valued Mentor
458 Posts
27 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2011
Post 8 of 9

Re: ViewCube in 2D wireframe

07-26-2013 05:32 AM in reply to: blafever

Ahh, excuse me... I skipped versions 2010 and 2011

 

It's there from 2012 onwards... perhaps time to upgrade (if only because of the dwg version?)?

Active Member
6 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Post 9 of 9

Re: ViewCube in 2D wireframe

07-26-2013 05:37 AM in reply to: acwtzwegers

I agree on the upgrade, unfortunatly I belive our next upgrade will be to Inventor. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post