AutoCAD Mechanical General Discussion

AutoCAD Mechanical General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
tdigiannurio
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-30-2007
Message 1 of 13 (319 Views)

PROBLEM 3D CONNEXION CONTROLLER BUT INTERFERES WITH AUTOCAD MECHANICAL

319 Views, 12 Replies
10-16-2011 05:38 PM

OPERATING SYSTEM WIN 7 PRO 64 BIT, AUTODESK VERSION 2011 AND 2012 WHEN USING AUTOCAD MECHANICAL AND

THE CONTROOLER IS TOUCHED I LOSE CURSOR AND DRAWING LINES BECOME ASKEW. THE ONLY WHY TO FIX THIS IF I CAN GET MY CURSOR BACK, IS TO TYPE PLAN AND THEN WORLD AND EVERYTHING GOES BACK TO NORMAL.

Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 2 of 13 (314 Views)

Re: PROBLEM 3D CONNEXION CONTROLLER BUT INTERFERES WITH AUTOCAD MECHANICAL

10-16-2011 09:27 PM in reply to: tdigiannurio

Hi,

 

I would suggest you to upgrade your mouse driver to the latest one from the 3D Connexion site.

 

http://www.3dconnexion.com/service/technical-support.html

 

If the problem persists, can you try this solution below as well.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=14898223&linkID=9240617

 

Hope it helps.



Vinod Balasubramanian
Contributor
SlowCad
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-27-2010
Message 3 of 13 (308 Views)

Re: PROBLEM 3D CONNEXION CONTROLLER BUT INTERFERES WITH AUTOCAD MECHANICAL

10-17-2011 01:02 AM in reply to: tdigiannurio

We have this problem also. We have Win7 64-bit now, but when we had WinXP 32-bit the problem was there too.

 

- updating driver doesn't help

- the 'Plan', 'World'-trick doesn't help

- enabling Hardware Accelarator doesn't help

 

Gr. John

Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 4 of 13 (294 Views)

Re: PROBLEM 3D CONNEXION CONTROLLER BUT INTERFERES WITH AUTOCAD MECHANICAL

10-17-2011 08:19 PM in reply to: SlowCad

Hi,

 

Did you manage to upgrade your graphic card driver. If not, you can download the certified ones from the link below,

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/cert?siteID=123112&id=16391880

 

Please also check whether you have Windows Aero feature enabled for your OS. If so, can you turn it off and let me know the results.

 

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!





Vinod Balasubramanian
Contributor
SlowCad
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-27-2010
Message 5 of 13 (292 Views)

Re: PROBLEM 3D CONNEXION CONTROLLER BUT INTERFERES WITH AUTOCAD MECHANICAL

10-17-2011 11:09 PM in reply to: tdigiannurio

Hello,

 

- turned 'Aero' off: no change

- graphics driver updated: no change

 

Like I mentioned: we used WinXP 32-bit (no 'Aero') and we had that problem also.

 

John

Contributor
tdigiannurio
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-30-2007
Message 6 of 13 (285 Views)

Re: PROBLEM 3D CONNEXION CONTROLLER BUT INTERFERES WITH AUTOCAD MECHANICAL

10-18-2011 08:03 AM in reply to: tdigiannurio

I am using the required newest video driver suggested by autodesk for my operating system and Inventor version 2012. I feel this is not a video issue. A new problem has surfaced in version 2012 that i did not have in 2011, when i accidently touched the controller Autocad crashed, this has happened twice and has never happened in previous versions. So I feel it is a more serious issue and Autodesk needs to be serious about a solution to this problem . I know this because i called 3D connexion support and they told me that starting with 2011 Autodesk has told thnm that they will handle the driver for this controller in their own software. So 3D connexxion is not making drivers for Autocad products past 2010 version. It is coincidental that this is exactly when i started having this problem.

Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 7 of 13 (278 Views)

Re: PROBLEM 3D CONNEXION CONTROLLER BUT INTERFERES WITH AUTOCAD MECHANICAL

10-18-2011 08:56 PM in reply to: tdigiannurio

Hi Guys,

 

Thanks for the update. Did you manage to submit a crash report, if so can you provide the email address you have used.

 

As for as i know there was some issue with 3D connexion mouse which was addressed in Update 1 for AutoCAD.

 

Did you install Update 1 on your machine. if not, you can download from the link below.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=17809346&linkID=9240898

 

Hope it helps.



Vinod Balasubramanian
Contributor
SlowCad
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-27-2010
Message 8 of 13 (276 Views)

Re: PROBLEM 3D CONNEXION CONTROLLER BUT INTERFERES WITH AUTOCAD MECHANICAL

10-18-2011 11:15 PM in reply to: tdigiannurio

Hi,

AcadM does not crash, in our situation. It 's just that bij accidentally touching the controller, the drawing is not useable anymore (like tdigiannurio mentioned). By writing it to a wblock and then opening again, the drawing is useable again.

 

Regards, John

Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 9 of 13 (273 Views)

Re: PROBLEM 3D CONNEXION CONTROLLER BUT INTERFERES WITH AUTOCAD MECHANICAL

10-19-2011 12:14 AM in reply to: SlowCad

Hi John,

 

Can you test the solutions in the following thread and let me know whether it helps or not.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=15127843&linkID=9240617

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-LT/AutoCAD-LT-2011-Cursor-Lag-issues-when-moving-objects/td-p/...

 

Hope it helps.

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!

 



Vinod Balasubramanian
Contributor
SlowCad
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-27-2010
Message 10 of 13 (271 Views)

Re: PROBLEM 3D CONNEXION CONTROLLER BUT INTERFERES WITH AUTOCAD MECHANICAL

10-19-2011 12:33 AM in reply to: tdigiannurio

Hi Vinod,

 

Thanks for reply. Tried the things that are suggested. Nothing helps. Turning off virus scanner is not possible, because it's network controlled. It has nothing to do with performance. It would be a solution if we could turn off the controller in Acad, because we only use it in Inventor.

 

John

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.