AutoCAD Mechanical General Discussion

AutoCAD Mechanical General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
sps_cad_guy
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎08-22-2012
Message 1 of 9 (564 Views)
Accepted Solution

opening splash screen

564 Views, 8 Replies
12-18-2013 04:50 AM

When I start ACAD Mech 2014, I get an empty box pop up in front of my work area, and then

the opening splash screen opens in Internet Explorer. How do I get this to stop?

And I've done the obvious of removing the check mark, but I guess since it's in IE, it's of no use.

Is there a setting somewhere to force this to stop?

Thank you for your help.

Lenovo Think Pad
Windows 7 SP 1
64 Bit.
Inventor 2013
ACAD Mechanical 2013

Try the following:  Go to Options > System tab > Help and Welcome Screen section > Uncheck the 'Access online content when available' checkbox. Does it now work?

 

For additional information and tips, please see the post below:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2013-2014-DWG-Format/Blank-Welcome-Screen/td-p/3391541

Valued Mentor
acwtzwegers
Posts: 392
Registered: ‎04-20-2011
Message 2 of 9 (544 Views)

Re: opening splash screen

12-19-2013 07:52 AM in reply to: sps_cad_guy
Wow, that is actually pretty cool... how did you manage to get ACM to do that? (Been looking in how to mod the splash screen for ages)

But ok, does this happen in all ways of starting up ACM or just using the desktop icon?
Distinguished Contributor
sps_cad_guy
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎08-22-2012
Message 3 of 9 (540 Views)

Re: opening splash screen

12-19-2013 08:10 AM in reply to: acwtzwegers

Looks like it doesn't matter how I start the program.

I really don't want the splash screen, and if the check box would work,

I wouldn't have it coming up at all.

Thanks for your response.

Lenovo Think Pad
Windows 7 SP 1
64 Bit.
Inventor 2013
ACAD Mechanical 2013
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,367
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 9 (535 Views)

Re: opening splash screen

12-19-2013 09:40 AM in reply to: sps_cad_guy

Try adding the /nologo argument to the shortcut, in the same way as you would provide a profile name argument.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Distinguished Contributor
sps_cad_guy
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎08-22-2012
Message 5 of 9 (534 Views)

Re: opening splash screen

12-19-2013 09:49 AM in reply to: dgorsman

Thank you, but I have no idea what you are telling me.

I'm basically a self taught user that just scratches the surface

of what the program can do.

Lenovo Think Pad
Windows 7 SP 1
64 Bit.
Inventor 2013
ACAD Mechanical 2013
Product Support
Shawn_Niles
Posts: 253
Registered: ‎12-02-2008
Message 6 of 9 (522 Views)

Re: opening splash screen

12-20-2013 02:07 PM in reply to: sps_cad_guy

Can you try a Reset of the program and see ifthat resolves thi? Go to Start > All Programs > Autodesk > *your AutoCAD  product* > Reset Settings to Default. It will then run through a few prompts and reset. Please let us know the results.



Shawn Niles
Distinguished Contributor
sps_cad_guy
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎08-22-2012
Message 7 of 9 (512 Views)

Re: opening splash screen

12-23-2013 04:17 AM in reply to: Shawn_Niles

Had my fingers crossed on that, but no, it still starts with the splash window being blank and what should be in the splash screen opening in an IE window.

And what makes it even better, is the zip file that was created that had my settings changes, was empty.

Lenovo Think Pad
Windows 7 SP 1
64 Bit.
Inventor 2013
ACAD Mechanical 2013
Product Support
Shawn_Niles
Posts: 253
Registered: ‎12-02-2008
Message 8 of 9 (507 Views)

Re: opening splash screen

12-23-2013 07:04 AM in reply to: sps_cad_guy

Try the following:  Go to Options > System tab > Help and Welcome Screen section > Uncheck the 'Access online content when available' checkbox. Does it now work?

 

For additional information and tips, please see the post below:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2013-2014-DWG-Format/Blank-Welcome-Screen/td-p/3391541



Shawn Niles
Distinguished Contributor
sps_cad_guy
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎08-22-2012
Message 9 of 9 (501 Views)

Re: opening splash screen

12-23-2013 07:25 AM in reply to: Shawn_Niles

Thanks a million. That did the trick.

Lenovo Think Pad
Windows 7 SP 1
64 Bit.
Inventor 2013
ACAD Mechanical 2013
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.