AutoCAD Mechanical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dimension styles

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
m.granata
1301 Views, 1 Reply

Dimension styles

Hello,

I will start by saying I am new to AutoCAD Mechanical.  I normanlly use Inventor and then AutoCAD for a few drawings no suitable for Inventor.  I want to start using AutoCAD Mechanical for the AutoCAD work.  I am using the 2013 version of Inventor Product Design Suite Premium which included AutoCAD Mechanical 2013, both are 64 bit..  I have the latest service pack for Inventor and AutoCAD Mechanical installed.

My question regards dimension scaling.  Typically, when I use AutoCAD I dimension everything in Model Space.  Within the Dimension Style Manager I set the dimension text size, arrow size, etc. to the actual size I want, then, in the "Scale for dimension features" section of the "Fit" tab I select the "Use overall scale of" radio button and set the scale to match the viewport scale .  For example, if I want a text size of 0.1" and the viewport has a scale 1 1/2"=1' I set the text size to 0.1" and the "Use overall scale of" to 8.  The result is a correctly sized text in that viewport.  When trying this in AutoCAD Mechanical the "Use overall scale of" shows 8 but it does not scale the text size, arrow size, or any other dimension property by a factor of 8.  The resulting dimensions end up being too small in size to read.  It seems as if the "Use overall scale of" is not working.  I have to think I am doing something wrong.

Any help to resolve this is appreciated.  Until then I have to keep using AutoCAD for the work not suitable for Inventor.

Regards,

1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
michaelsu
in reply to: m.granata

Hello,

Thanks for trying AutoCAD Mechanical.