AutoCAD Mechanical General Discussion

AutoCAD Mechanical General Discussion

Reply
*Mike Dickason \(Autodesk\)
Message 11 of 31 (143 Views)

Re: CUI file problems

04-26-2005 07:40 AM in reply to: sseager
Can you post the CUI file that is causing problems?

The 2006 files have a different format than 2005. While opening a 2006 file
in 2005 should not crash, we have discovered one situation that does result
in a crash. In the OPTIONS dialog, if you have a default template specified
on the AM:smileytongue:references tab then you will likely crash when opening a 2006
file. What should happen is that when the 2006 file is opened a dialog
should appear indicating the file is saved in a newer format and all
commands disabled.

For the case where commands stop working, do you use the right-click context
menus in the graphic area when you have geometry grip-selected? We've just
recently discovered a long-standing bug where doing a right-click in the
graphics window with geometry selected will eventually result in all
commands to stop functioning. Once this happens the only solution is to
quit and restart the program.

--
Mike Dickason
Developer
Manufacturing Solutions Division
Autodesk, Inc.
Active Contributor
mhodson
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-14-2005
Message 12 of 31 (143 Views)

Re: CUI file problems

04-26-2005 07:58 AM in reply to: sseager
I forgot to mention another problem associated with the CUI files. When I close a drawing or shut down AutoCAD, the error message pops up. Usually four times for the first drawing and at least twice for each other drawing. It sure makes shutting down, a long stupid process.
Active Member
sseager
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-12-2005
Message 13 of 31 (143 Views)

Re: CUI file problems

04-27-2005 09:20 AM in reply to: sseager
Why do I get an error saying that this type of file is not allowed?
Valued Contributor
bseydlitz
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎08-23-2004
Message 14 of 31 (143 Views)

Re: CUI file problems

05-06-2005 07:59 AM in reply to: sseager
Any fix for this yet?

I've got a lot of work to do. Seems like quite a problem.

I just dropped a load of money on this software to start my own business. Please make it work.
New Member
T BRYAN
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-06-2005
Message 15 of 31 (143 Views)

Re: CUI file problems

05-06-2005 09:10 AM in reply to: sseager
What about the customization of the toolbars issue? All we are doing is adding and removing buttons to and from toolbars, which seems to work fine for a while, then we get the error message "The CUI file you are attempting to open is invalid. Select a different CUI file and try again." Once the message appears we are not longer able to customize. Reinstalling helps, but the same problem reoccurs. This issue has been brought up before in this string, but know one seems to know a solution, We need a patch now! We are getting ready to chunk this new reversion, and move on to something that has more support.
Valued Contributor
bseydlitz
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎08-23-2004
Message 16 of 31 (143 Views)

Re: CUI file problems

05-10-2005 06:50 AM in reply to: sseager
Jul-Vie, Siew,

I had been patiently waiting for a fix for this bug and again needed to change my workspace and I thought, 'why not try it again'. This time I got the attached error.

I said continue and it looked like it was going to let me customize the correct cui information. I was afraid to mess with anything given the history of this problem.

Thought this might help fix it.
*Bud Schroeder [Autodesk Inc.]
Message 17 of 31 (143 Views)

Re: CUI file problems

05-11-2005 01:24 PM in reply to: sseager
Hi Mike,

Can you zip up your CUI file and eMAIL it to us? Send it to
bud@autodesk.com. Also the error message you have attached is a generic
.NET error message. Can you give us some details on why you think that may
be a CUI error?

Thanks for working with us on this.

Bud Schroeder
AutoCAD Test Development.
Autodesk Inc.

wrote in message news:4820604@discussion.autodesk.com...
I started having this same problem all of a sudden today. The customize
user interface was working fine, I made some changes and they were saved to
the CUI file. The next time I tried to open the CUI dialog box it gave me
the invalid error message.

Now, no matter which CUI file I open, they are all blank. There are no menu
items, toolbars, shortcut menus etc.

There was a JIT error that popped up...I'll try to attach the text.
*Bud Schroeder [Autodesk Inc.]
Message 18 of 31 (143 Views)

Re: CUI file problems

05-11-2005 01:25 PM in reply to: sseager
Hello,

Can you ZIP up your CUI file and eMAIL it to us? We would like to take a
look at it to see what is going on. Please eMAIL it to bud@autodesk.com

Thanks for working with us on this.

Bud Schroeder
AutoCAD Test Development
Autodesk Inc.

wrote in message news:4839768@discussion.autodesk.com...
Jul-Vie, Siew,

I had been patiently waiting for a fix for this bug and again needed to
change my workspace and I thought, 'why not try it again'. This time I got
the attached error.

I said continue and it looked like it was going to let me customize the
correct cui information. I was afraid to mess with anything given the
history of this problem.

Thought this might help fix it.
*Bud Schroeder [Autodesk Inc.]
Message 19 of 31 (143 Views)

Re: CUI file problems

05-11-2005 01:26 PM in reply to: sseager
Hi,

Can you please ZIP up your CUI file and eMAIL it to me at bud@autodesk.com

Thanks

Bud Schroeder
AutoCAD Test Development
Autodesk Inc.

wrote in message news:4825896@discussion.autodesk.com...
What is your email address?
New Member
Cadking7
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-26-2005
Message 20 of 31 (143 Views)

Re: CUI file problems

05-26-2005 05:38 PM in reply to: sseager
It is obvious that Autodesk knew about this bug before releasing 2006, I know of 4 firms here with the EXACT same problem:

"the cui file you are attempting to open is invalid. select a different cui file and try again"

I AM UNINSTALLING 2006 UNTIL THEY HAVE A FIX, THEY SHOULD DO THE RIGHT THING AND REFUND ALL LICENCED USERS FOR TIME WASTED ON THIS RIDICULOUS RELEASE.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.