AutoCAD Mechanical General Discussion

AutoCAD Mechanical General Discussion

Reply
Member
wesley.potter
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
Message 1 of 4 (1,294 Views)

AutoCAD 2012 freezing computer when opening files

1294 Views, 3 Replies
06-17-2011 12:40 PM

I am having a reoccuring issue with ACAD completely freezing up my computer when attempting to open files. This happens shortly after I click the open button in the file menu. This is also a total computer freeze, ie NOTHING else works... not even the mouse. My computer ran ACAD 2011 and 2010 just fine, but I upgraded a few days ago. This is becoming very irritating. Anybody having the same issues? If you need system specs just ask.

New Member
S0722173
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 2 of 4 (1,241 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 freezing computer when opening files

06-20-2011 10:28 PM in reply to: wesley.potter

Yes, I am having similar issues. Ran 2010, the 2011 just fine. Upgraded yesterday, and today I am trying to copy from one drawing into another, and it freezes on me. Had to reboot first time, happened again second time! Come on Autocad! Why release an upgrade that doesnt work!

Member
wesley.potter
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
Message 3 of 4 (1,236 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 freezing computer when opening files

06-21-2011 06:34 AM in reply to: wesley.potter

Found a work around that has kept me mostly productive. I simply open files from windows explorer and avoid the File->Open at all costs. Would appriciate a response from AutoDesk here... even with the work around it is a huge pain in the rear. Goodness forbit that I need to do a "Save As"... that is a risky operation these days.

Member
alisondraper
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-31-2009
Message 4 of 4 (636 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 freezing computer when opening files

02-06-2012 06:34 PM in reply to: wesley.potter

Has a solution been found to this problem yet?  We started experiencing the same problem when we upgraded from Windows XP to Windows 7 whilst running AutoCAD 2008 - unfortunately it still occurs randomly since upgrading to 2012.  It seems to lock up whilst accessing the network server eg opening a drawing, inserting a block, saving a drawing and is very frustrating because of it's unpredictability.  We've installed Service Pack 1 and the 'ribbon fix' to no avail.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.