AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
Goxy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
Message 1 of 10 (209 Views)

Z coordinates

209 Views, 9 Replies
03-13-2012 02:16 AM

Is there any way to multiply the value of Z coordinate for many points selected, in the same time? For example, I selected many points, and need to double their Z value, but on an easier way, not one by one? Thanks

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,782
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 10 (206 Views)

Re: Z coordinates

03-13-2012 03:18 AM in reply to: Goxy

One way is to export those points to a shapefile, then perform the calculation in the .DBF (in Excel or similar), and _MAPIMPORT the edited shapefile back to Autocad.

Member
Goxy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
Message 3 of 10 (203 Views)

Re: Z coordinates

03-13-2012 03:25 AM in reply to: Goxy

Thanks a lot. I'll try, and hope it will work, cause I'm beginner in Map 3D. Thanks again.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,782
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 10 (199 Views)

Re: Z coordinates

03-13-2012 03:45 AM in reply to: Goxy

Please pay attention to this point: if you manually edit a .DBF file belonging to a shape-set, you can add or erase columns in the spreadsheet, but it's NOT allowed to add or erase rows.

Valued Mentor
parkr4st
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 5 of 10 (190 Views)

Re: Z coordinates

03-13-2012 05:31 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

If you only need the calculation, export the pint with the z value as a property, put  the sdf into a map and open the data table, calculate z*2.

 

Do you need to move the points or create a new set of points at the new z value?

 

 

Member
Goxy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
Message 6 of 10 (186 Views)

Re: Z coordinates

03-13-2012 07:01 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Thank you

Member
Goxy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
Message 7 of 10 (182 Views)

Re: Z coordinates

03-13-2012 07:17 AM in reply to: parkr4st

Actually, I attended to move plenty of points along the Z axe. To duplicate Z value for all the points in the same time, but as I'm a beginner, didn't know how. I tought, it must be that it is easy. Maybe it actually is, but when you are not familiar with Map 3D, it seems dificult. Now I have some inputs and ideas, so I'll try. Of course, it needs much more time for me. Thanks a lot

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 8 of 10 (179 Views)

Re: Z coordinates

03-13-2012 07:23 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

I believe that a recent problem with the suggestion of editing a .dbf is that MS Excel 2010 no longer allows you to save back in the DBase IV format.  However, a work-around I found was a gentleman in Australia selling a "add-on" re-enabling this feature for $30 US.

 

Just want folks to be aware before investing too much labor. :smileyhappy:


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Product Support
NateMoore
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Message 9 of 10 (162 Views)

Re: Z coordinates

03-13-2012 01:45 PM in reply to: thepworth

OpenOffice will allow a save back to .dbf also.(and it's free and will handle the native .xls files as well)



Nate Moore, GISP
Geospatial Premium Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk, Sarl
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 10 of 10 (160 Views)

Re: Z coordinates

03-13-2012 01:47 PM in reply to: NateMoore

True, thanks for bringing it up - I use it on my personal machine & forgot to mention.... :smileyhappy:


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.