AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
chierchio
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎05-03-2009
Message 1 of 4 (939 Views)

XREF - Locate Using Geographic Data

939 Views, 3 Replies
03-14-2011 01:52 PM

I am having some difficulty using the XREF/Block insertion using 'Locate using Geographic Data'. This does not seem to locate anything using Geographic Info. I have found a large discrepancy with this process in the order of 100's of meters. I am using SA-17S (dwg 1) in my drawing and WGS84-17S (dwg 2) in the drawing I want to insert.

 

When I attach dwg 2 to dwg 1 and set the coordinate systems using the assign coordinate system and query in data, everything matched and is coincidental, but when I insert or XREF using the 'Locate using Geographic Data', there is an enormous error.

 

Have I missed something here?

 

I cannot seem to find any reference to this check box in the Map3D Helpfile. Using Civil 3D 2011 - 64 bit.

 

Thanks,

 

Chris

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,015
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 4 (936 Views)

Re: XREF - Locate Using Geographic Data

03-14-2011 05:25 PM in reply to: chierchio

The locate using Geographic Data' is for vanilla AutoCAD and not be confused with the coordinate systems/datums used in MAP3D. Stick with the Map dwg attach command or reproject the dwg you want to xref in to match the base dwg.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 3 of 4 (918 Views)

Re: XREF - Locate Using Geographic Data

03-15-2011 09:30 AM in reply to: chierchio

That option only works when you have GEOMARKERVISIBILITY = 1, and have set the GEOGRAPHICLOCATION.

 

But listen to Murph...  That option is mainly meant to allow the Vanilla Autocad guys to do some Google Earth sort of stuff.  It doesn't actually reproject anything, just attempts to scale/move/rotate things to an approximate match, and sometimes it comes up with some pretty funky ideas.  Stick to the Map features.

Sinc
aj
New Member
aj
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
Message 4 of 4 (444 Views)

Re: XREF - Locate Using Geographic Data

07-10-2013 09:37 AM in reply to: chierchio
I know this post has been out there a while but you may be better served in lieu of inserting an XREF invoking the "locate using geographic data" variable, another workaround is to instead, attach the dwg and execute query. Very important to have the units set correctly as well as have each dataset coordinate system assigned. If querying into the primary dwg with the units set as 'feet', all other dwgs to be queried should also be set at 'feet', even though the dataset may be in meters.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.