AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
jagielski
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Message 1 of 15 (504 Views)

xdata

504 Views, 14 Replies
07-23-2012 12:56 PM

Does anybody know if there might be a routine to add xdata to a polyline (ASCII string in particular) by selecting existing text instead of having to type the text when prompted to do as the existing attach Xdata express tool requires? I know I could copy and paste text, but I have several sets of text that needs to be added to several hundred polylines and being able to select existing text instead of typing or having to copy and paste each text string would be very beneficial.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,669
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 15 (489 Views)

Re: xdata

07-23-2012 11:34 PM in reply to: jagielski

Are the text strings all identical, or every string is different for each polyline..?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,084
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 3 of 15 (482 Views)

Re: xdata

07-24-2012 06:21 AM in reply to: jagielski

Hi,

 

on one side: no, I don't know a ready-to-use-tool that does that. But it's not so much work to create it.

 

BUT: What is the reason that you want to use XDATA? As we are here in the forum for Map3D it might also be to think of using Object-Data and not XDATA.

 

The most important differences are:

  • Object-Data is analysable with Map3D-functionality, XDATA is not analysable
  • XDATA can be used with plane AutoCAD, Object-Data needs Map3D as base product, does not work with plane AutoCAD

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
jagielski
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Message 4 of 15 (481 Views)

Re: xdata

07-24-2012 06:23 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

All of the text strings are different for each polyline

Contributor
jagielski
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Message 5 of 15 (479 Views)

Re: xdata

07-24-2012 06:25 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

We use object data for our own purposes, but these polylines are being supplied to someone who uses xdata for analysis through SurvCadd. We don't usually change up the way we do things but we are trying to accomodate their needs without having to have them change their processes. 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,084
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 15 (472 Views)

Re: xdata

07-24-2012 06:35 AM in reply to: jagielski

Hi,

 

if there is an application that needs XDATA on objects than I think that it has some restrictions or some rules of how they structure their XDATA. It's not as easy as "write text to XDATA" as also XDATA can be structured in many different ways.

 

Check their structure (upload a drawing with such a filled sample-poly), let me know what AutoCAD-version you are running and if you have installed VBA for AutoCAD (and upload a drawing that shows what you currently have). Maybe I have some minutes.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
jagielski
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Message 7 of 15 (470 Views)

Re: xdata

07-24-2012 07:34 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Alfred,

 

The new block.dwg is what they sent us with attached xdata for what they are currently using. I attached some xdata to a polyline using express tools and sent it to them to make sure that they were going to be able to use it in the same way and they were. 

 

We need to be able to attach owner name (i.e. - C.W. Hoskins' Heirs) and tract and contract information (i.e. - TR1006_200204) as string xdata to our polylines and to retype this every time we have to attach it using the current express tool opens the door to errors that we would like to eliminate. 

 

 

The testdata.dwg is a small sample of what we usually use. Everything besides the object data is text that we have added to adapt to what the people we are working with are used to and I guess need for their purposes. We also attach our object data to the polylines but this is not done in this drawing. 

 

I am currently working in AutoCAD Map 3D 2012. I do not believe that we currently have VBA installed, but probably wouldn't be a problem to install if needed.

 

Let me know if you have any other questions.

 

Thank you

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,084
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 8 of 15 (465 Views)

Re: xdata

07-24-2012 10:08 AM in reply to: jagielski

Hi,

 

first question: 32bit or 64bit?

second question: do you know that as long as these two text-objects are single/separated objects the full automation is not really possible? You have to click every single text-object.

If you would have created these two text-objects as additional attributes within your block "ID-CO" the way to full automation would be possible (you would not have to select every poly and every text).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
jagielski
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Message 9 of 15 (464 Views)

Re: xdata

07-24-2012 10:19 AM in reply to: jagielski

64 bit.

 

If full automation would be possible, then we can add those lines to our existing atribute blocks, no problem!

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,084
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 10 of 15 (461 Views)

Re: xdata

07-24-2012 10:37 AM in reply to: jagielski

Hi,

 

>> If full automation would be possible, then we can add those lines to our existing atribute blocks, no problem!

What is the source data that you can say that? Because if it is easy for you to do the conversion from two textlines to the block-insertions I guess your data-source is not this file?

 

Well, when you have done that for the sample-data upload the new drawing with the new block-structre. I will then try to send you the conversion to XDATA as soon as possible. (hurry up. it's 7:30pm for me) :smileywink:

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.