AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Neil47
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 1 of 19 (1,422 Views)
Accepted Solution

World Files Not Recognised

1422 Views, 18 Replies
06-18-2012 03:21 AM

I am trying to insert Geo-referenced TIF files into Map 2013 but the associated World files are not being found/recognised even though they are in the same directory as the image. I have tried both TAB and TFW using MAPIINSERTand Data Connect. 

 

Going back to Map 2012, which we still have in the office, the World files are found and correlated correctly with both of the above World file types and Map commands.

 

I can do what I need to do in 2012 for the moment but has anyone else had this problem?

Same thing happened to me too with Civil 3D 2013.
My problem was that the path to the *.tif and *.tfw was too long (or spaces ...). Putting the two files to c:\temp\ solved the problem.
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,740
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 19 (1,419 Views)

Re: World Files Not Recognised

06-18-2012 04:05 AM in reply to: Neil47

Try to embed the .TFW file in the header of your .TIF, by means of the free GeoTiffExaminer tool, sir.

Valued Contributor
Neil47
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 3 of 19 (1,388 Views)

Re: World Files Not Recognised

06-19-2012 03:29 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Thanks for the tip, it's a nice tool and has provided a work round for the problem I'm having although I'd still like to know why Map was not finding the world files.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,740
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 19 (1,382 Views)

Re: World Files Not Recognised

06-19-2012 05:30 AM in reply to: Neil47

Neil47 wrote:

why Map was not finding the world files.


Feel free to paste here the content of that Worldfile, thanx.

Valued Contributor
Neil47
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 5 of 19 (1,364 Views)

Re: World Files Not Recognised

06-20-2012 12:21 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

As noted in my first post these are both found and used by Map 2012 to locate the raster file correctly but not by Map 2013 - hopefully thwe layout of the contents isn't lost in the formatting of the post

 

Contents of TFW file are

 

1.000000000000000

0.000000000000000

0.000000000000000

-1.000000000000000

335000.500000000000000

134999.500000000000000

 

And contents of TAB file are

 

!table

!version 300

!charset WindowsLatin1

 

Definition Table

  File "ST33SE.TIF"

  Type "RASTER"

  (335000,130000) (0,5000) Label "Pt 1",

  (340000,130000) (5000,5000) Label "Pt 2",

  (340000,135000) (5000,0) Label "Pt 3",

  (335000,135000) (0,0) Label "Pt 4"

  CoordSys Earth Projection 8, 79, "m", -2, 49, 0.9996012717, 400000, -100000

  Units "m"

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,740
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 6 of 19 (1,362 Views)

Re: World Files Not Recognised

06-20-2012 02:18 AM in reply to: Neil47

Are you REALLY sure that .TFW file name is ST33SE like its own TIFF ?

If so, erase or move the original .TFW anywhere, then with GeoTiffExaminer recreate it from the Geotiff already existing, and try again in Map2013.

 

 

New Member
alberto00
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-23-2012
Message 7 of 19 (1,320 Views)

Re: World Files Not Recognised

08-23-2012 04:42 AM in reply to: Neil47

The same thing happened to mee too...

Georeferended .tif image in the right position with civil 3d 2012. .tfw file not recognized in civil 3d 2013....

Member
andreas.kluser
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-09-2008
Message 8 of 19 (1,022 Views)

Re: World Files Not Recognised

06-23-2013 11:02 AM in reply to: Neil47
Same thing happened to me too with Civil 3D 2013.
My problem was that the path to the *.tif and *.tfw was too long (or spaces ...). Putting the two files to c:\temp\ solved the problem.
Active Contributor
surveyor8120
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎05-31-2007
Message 9 of 19 (968 Views)

Re: World Files Not Recognised

07-10-2013 03:51 PM in reply to: Neil47

I am having the same problem with Civil3D 2013.

 

If i change the coordinate system of my drawing to no projection no datum, it will come in just fine.  However if i do not it will come in the wrong place.

 

 

I have an geotiff that is in Alaska Stateplane zone 7 (NAD83)  and my current drawing is a custom coordinate system with defined values in Autocadd.

 

I normally in the past would just edit the world file to make the geotiff come in my drawing in the correct place.  However when I do this it will not work, put it in wrong place.  I notice on the insertion that the correlation data is different than my world file.

 

 If i change my coordinate system to no datum no projection it will come in to the correct place and the correlation data on the import is same as my world file. 

 

So looks like to me that it is trying to convert on the import.

So what should i do, is there a setting I need to change in Civil 3d / Map?

Thanks,
Anthony Robinson

arobinson@crweng.com

 

Anthony Robinson, PLS, CFEDS
CRW Engineering Group, LLC
Civil 3D 2013
Windows 7 Prof. x64 SP1
Dell Workstation
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU
870 @ 2.93GHz
16.00 GB RAM
Active Contributor
surveyor8120
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎05-31-2007
Message 10 of 19 (966 Views)

Re: World Files Not Recognised

07-10-2013 04:19 PM in reply to: surveyor8120

I opened my image in a photo viewer then saved as a regular tiff and now Civil3d 2013 will now read the world file and bring it in correct location.

 

So seems to me that Civil3d 2013 is trying to read my image info instead of world file info?  Which is not the order it is supposed to.  What do you guys think?

 

Anthony Robinson

arobinson@crewng.com

Anthony Robinson, PLS, CFEDS
CRW Engineering Group, LLC
Civil 3D 2013
Windows 7 Prof. x64 SP1
Dell Workstation
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU
870 @ 2.93GHz
16.00 GB RAM
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!