AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
arnoldschwabe
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎07-07-2010
Message 1 of 7 (570 Views)

Woes with Publish to DWF

570 Views, 6 Replies
07-25-2012 12:15 PM

I'm writing this in the Map group but using Civil 3D because either one could (hopefully) accomplish the task. I have a drawing with no AutoCAD entities, just 5 FDO datasources in SDF format. I attach the SDF files, style them to what I want, then try to Publish to DWF. This is where my problems begin. It seems that the first time I try to Publish, I can get a DWF file but it isn't exactly what I want so I go back and make a few changes, maybe adjust the accuracy/resolution and I can never get it to work again. I am adding some of the data to the DWF with the Publish options and save an xml file showing which fields to publish, that seems to work in the first attempt.

Then I try a second time and it throws an error with the standard Autodesk error dialogue. Also, the plot command shows me that something was plotted, but it generates a Warning. The Warning is blank, and no file is plotted. Here's the copy:

-------------------------------------------------------

 Job: -

Job ID: 2 Sheet set name: Date and time started: 25/07/2012 11:36:58 AM Date and time completed: UserID: xxxxx Profile ID: <<C3D_Metric>> Total sheets: 3 Sheets plotted: 0 Number of errors: 0 Number of warnings: 0

 Sheet: WaterLL-Model - Plotted with Warning(s)

File: C:\Users\xxxxx\Desktop\DWFTests\WaterLL.dwg Category name: Page setup: Device name: DWF6 ePlot.pc3 - plotted to file Plot file path: C:\Users\xxxxx\Desktop\WaterLL-Model.dwf Paper size: Previous paper size (899.92 x 1799.84 mm)

WARNING:

------------------------------------------------------------

I'm at a loss as to why it suddenly doesn't work and why it says it is generating a file but nothing happens. Any insight would be much appreciated!

 

I forgot to add... I get the same results using 2012 or 2013.

Alumni
machadt
Posts: 129
Registered: ‎10-25-2011
Message 2 of 7 (532 Views)

Re: Woes with Publish to DWF

08-03-2012 04:43 PM in reply to: arnoldschwabe

Hi Arnold,

Could you please load the you drawing and dwf files and I will gladly take a look at it.

Thanks,

Tatiana Machado
AEC-ENI Application Engineer
Contributor
arnoldschwabe
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎07-07-2010
Message 3 of 7 (506 Views)

Re: Woes with Publish to DWF

08-07-2012 07:45 AM in reply to: machadt

Hi Tatiana,

 

Thanks for the offer to look at the drawing! I will assemble all the SDF files and try to load them today.

 

Arnold

Contributor
arnoldschwabe
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎07-07-2010
Message 4 of 7 (500 Views)

Re: Woes with Publish to DWF

08-07-2012 09:45 AM in reply to: arnoldschwabe

I'm attaching the files I used to create the drawing. Here's a brief explanation:

- The drawing is just empty without entities, everything is just attached SDF files

- The coordinate system for the drawing is LL84 (to be explained later)

- The coordinate systems for all the SDF files is UTM84-10N. This is normally the coordinate system we use for all our files.

We're experimenting with the Google Nexus 7 tablets and trying to get our information into DWF files so they can use it in the field and bring up the utility information, with record drawings, service information, etc. We can create PDFs of the drawings but unfortunately, they are rather limited as we can't put the extended data in like we can with the DWF files. Also, we have chosed LL for a coordinate system as the GPS in the Nexus seems to favour Lat/Long.

If we could get the DWF file to work (and if Autodesk could change the Android DWF viewer to work with files stored locally, similar to the Autocad WS viewer), it would go a long way to solving a LOT of our problems. I didn't attach the 1 DWF file that I managed to publish. It's over 50MB so probably won't load here.

Thanks very much for taking the time to review the file. Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

Arnold

Alumni
machadt
Posts: 129
Registered: ‎10-25-2011
Message 5 of 7 (472 Views)

Re: Woes with Publish to DWF

08-09-2012 01:21 PM in reply to: arnoldschwabe

Hi Arnold,

I tried to print your drawing and got and error.

So I recreated your file using your data set and I was able to publish and export to dwf without any problems.

I even exported your layers and imported in my drawing, to publish again no problem at all.

I think that is it some corruption on your drawing.

Tatiana Machado
AEC-ENI Application Engineer
Contributor
arnoldschwabe
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎07-07-2010
Message 6 of 7 (462 Views)

Re: Woes with Publish to DWF

08-10-2012 08:44 AM in reply to: machadt

Thanks very much. I will try rebuilding the drawing again and see if I can get it to work.

Alumni
machadt
Posts: 129
Registered: ‎10-25-2011
Message 7 of 7 (459 Views)

Re: Woes with Publish to DWF

08-10-2012 10:31 AM in reply to: arnoldschwabe

It's my pleasure to help, please let me know how it went.

My DWF file is too big to load it here, but I will gladly help you if you need further assistance.

Tatiana Machado
AEC-ENI Application Engineer
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.