AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
50 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-02-2011
Post 1 of 7

Using FDO to attach a MR SID image-failure

268 Views, 6 Replies
01-23-2013 11:46 AM

I downloaded a MR SID (latest version) from RGIS.edu, our local GIS clearinghouse in New Mexico, to add to a drawing file. After downloading it, I extracted the data to a folder (still under my Downloads folder) and tried to connect it to my drawing via FDO. I got a message saying that there was a problem and it could not connect to the file. I am using Civil 3D with all service packs.

I never had much of a problem in the past connecting to downloaded aerials. I resist inserting this type of image because of the possibe poor coordinate transformation and/or file size bloat.

I found a topic about repaiing broken feature connections in the Help, but I am not certain that it applies in my case.

Do I need to move the folder to my temporary reference file location?

Also, I could not find much information online about this topic. Thank you.

Susan H

Valued Mentor
491 Posts
35 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Post 2 of 7

Re: Using FDO to attach a MR SID image-failure

01-24-2013 02:42 AM in reply to: shunter62

what version of C3D?  Are the files present with the SID: .prj, .sdw? how much memory are you working with on your system?

 

Dave

*Expert Elite*
9,831 Posts
1,216 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Post 3 of 7

Re: Using FDO to attach a MR SID image-failure

01-24-2013 04:33 AM in reply to: shunter62

Hi,

 

what happens if you try command _MAPIINSERT instead (just to verify if the file is defect or the FDO-connection has an issue ...)

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
50 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-02-2011
Post 4 of 7

Re: Using FDO to attach a MR SID image-failure

01-24-2013 07:21 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I will ive it a try-pretty busy today, but will try to find the time.I don't usually have problems with files from this source.

Susan

Valued Contributor
50 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-02-2011
Post 5 of 7

Re: Using FDO to attach a MR SID image-failure

01-24-2013 07:22 AM in reply to: parkr4st

Sorry, I meant to write C3D 2012, machine has 8 g of RAM.

Valued Contributor
50 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-02-2011
Post 6 of 7

Re: Using FDO to attach a MR SID image-failure

01-25-2013 02:02 PM in reply to: shunter62

I did a bit more digging and it may be a permissions issue. I can Image-insert the SID to a drawing, just not connect to it via FDO. It seems that the compressed file download is read-only, because my Downloads folder is locked (local office policy). I am going to try downloading it again to the C:\ drive & see if it is still read only. I can take read only off the extracted files, but FDO still fails to load the SID.

I will mess with it some more next week, and maybe do some negotiations with the IT administrator. Thanks for the follow-up.

Susan

*Expert Elite*
9,831 Posts
1,216 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Post 7 of 7

Re: Using FDO to attach a MR SID image-failure

01-26-2013 02:16 AM in reply to: shunter62

Hi,

 

>> I am going to try downloading it again to the C:\ drive & see if it is still read only.

Just copy it to a temp-folder on C:, then right-click it to see the files properties and disable the read-only flag (if there is one).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!