AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
shunter62
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-02-2011
Message 1 of 7 (255 Views)

Using FDO to attach a MR SID image-failure

255 Views, 6 Replies
01-23-2013 11:46 AM

I downloaded a MR SID (latest version) from RGIS.edu, our local GIS clearinghouse in New Mexico, to add to a drawing file. After downloading it, I extracted the data to a folder (still under my Downloads folder) and tried to connect it to my drawing via FDO. I got a message saying that there was a problem and it could not connect to the file. I am using Civil 3D with all service packs.

I never had much of a problem in the past connecting to downloaded aerials. I resist inserting this type of image because of the possibe poor coordinate transformation and/or file size bloat.

I found a topic about repaiing broken feature connections in the Help, but I am not certain that it applies in my case.

Do I need to move the folder to my temporary reference file location?

Also, I could not find much information online about this topic. Thank you.

Susan H

Valued Mentor
parkr4st
Posts: 451
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 2 of 7 (244 Views)

Re: Using FDO to attach a MR SID image-failure

01-24-2013 02:42 AM in reply to: shunter62

what version of C3D?  Are the files present with the SID: .prj, .sdw? how much memory are you working with on your system?

 

Dave

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,084
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 3 of 7 (237 Views)

Re: Using FDO to attach a MR SID image-failure

01-24-2013 04:33 AM in reply to: shunter62

Hi,

 

what happens if you try command _MAPIINSERT instead (just to verify if the file is defect or the FDO-connection has an issue ...)

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
shunter62
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-02-2011
Message 4 of 7 (235 Views)

Re: Using FDO to attach a MR SID image-failure

01-24-2013 07:21 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I will ive it a try-pretty busy today, but will try to find the time.I don't usually have problems with files from this source.

Susan

Active Contributor
shunter62
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-02-2011
Message 5 of 7 (234 Views)

Re: Using FDO to attach a MR SID image-failure

01-24-2013 07:22 AM in reply to: parkr4st

Sorry, I meant to write C3D 2012, machine has 8 g of RAM.

Active Contributor
shunter62
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-02-2011
Message 6 of 7 (209 Views)

Re: Using FDO to attach a MR SID image-failure

01-25-2013 02:02 PM in reply to: shunter62

I did a bit more digging and it may be a permissions issue. I can Image-insert the SID to a drawing, just not connect to it via FDO. It seems that the compressed file download is read-only, because my Downloads folder is locked (local office policy). I am going to try downloading it again to the C:\ drive & see if it is still read only. I can take read only off the extracted files, but FDO still fails to load the SID.

I will mess with it some more next week, and maybe do some negotiations with the IT administrator. Thanks for the follow-up.

Susan

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,084
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 7 of 7 (203 Views)

Re: Using FDO to attach a MR SID image-failure

01-26-2013 02:16 AM in reply to: shunter62

Hi,

 

>> I am going to try downloading it again to the C:\ drive & see if it is still read only.

Just copy it to a temp-folder on C:, then right-click it to see the files properties and disable the read-only flag (if there is one).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.