AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
everblader
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 1 of 8 (446 Views)

USING DATA FOR MAP BOOK NAMING SCHEME

446 Views, 7 Replies
08-29-2011 11:06 AM

Has anyone used data for thier naming scheme when creating a mapbook? I imported a SHP file with the "GRID_ID" that I want to use as the sheet name. I have tried to use it but I get an error. "Error updating Map Book. Expression unable to be evaluated". 

 

Image 1 Error

 

 

2011-08-29_1351.png

 

 

Image 2 Data

 

Data

HP Z400 Workstation
Intel Xeon W3550 -Cores 4
12GB Triple-Channel DDR3 @ 533MHz
2-HP LE2201w @ 1680x1050
ATI FirePro V3800 (FireGL) (HP)
MS Windows 7 64-bit
Distinguished Contributor
nwray
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎03-10-2008
Message 2 of 8 (426 Views)

Re: USING DATA FOR MAP BOOK NAMING SCHEME

08-30-2011 03:43 PM in reply to: everblader

How exactly did you use the expression for the naming convention?  My map book grid has an object data table called "City_Grid" with the ID field named "ID".  When I built the map book, I used the expression ":ID@City_Grid" (without the quotes) and it's working out.  I attached a screen shot if it helps.

 

Norm

Contributor
everblader
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 8 (413 Views)

Re: USING DATA FOR MAP BOOK NAMING SCHEME

08-31-2011 06:43 AM in reply to: nwray

Thanks for your reply Norm.

 

I have the statement as this, :GRID_ID@20FT_GRID

The field is a text field. Could that cause the error? I have used the template in other map books and it works fine. I have the problem with the data driven naming only.

 

Thanks again,

 

Dave

HP Z400 Workstation
Intel Xeon W3550 -Cores 4
12GB Triple-Channel DDR3 @ 533MHz
2-HP LE2201w @ 1680x1050
ATI FirePro V3800 (FireGL) (HP)
MS Windows 7 64-bit
Distinguished Contributor
nwray
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎03-10-2008
Message 4 of 8 (404 Views)

Re: USING DATA FOR MAP BOOK NAMING SCHEME

08-31-2011 09:30 AM in reply to: everblader

No problem.

 

I just checked inside my own map, and the ID field for me is a text (character) field as well, with values like "A-1", "A-2", etc.  I don't think it should be having any problems because of the data type.  Is it possible that you have any null values?  That may be causing some kind of hiccup.

 

When you say that the problem is with the "data driven naming" only, does that mean that if you use one of the built in naming conventions that it will successfully create the map book?

 

If you want, you could attach a file containing your grid system and I can try it out here.  Maybe I can replicate the problem and take a look at it.

 

Norm

Contributor
everblader
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 8 (399 Views)

Re: USING DATA FOR MAP BOOK NAMING SCHEME

08-31-2011 10:32 AM in reply to: nwray

OK, Thanks

 

 I have the "grid" attached.

HP Z400 Workstation
Intel Xeon W3550 -Cores 4
12GB Triple-Channel DDR3 @ 533MHz
2-HP LE2201w @ 1680x1050
ATI FirePro V3800 (FireGL) (HP)
MS Windows 7 64-bit
Distinguished Contributor
nwray
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎03-10-2008
Message 6 of 8 (393 Views)

Re: USING DATA FOR MAP BOOK NAMING SCHEME

08-31-2011 11:05 AM in reply to: everblader

I think I figured out the problem.  The file you sent has two grids, 20FT and 75FT.  When you get to the point where you are selecting your tiles, you need to select only tiles on the 20FT grid layer.  When I selected only those tiles, everything worked out, but if I included anything from the 75FT grid layer, it gave me the same error that you show in your post.  I've attached the edited file with the sheet set if you want to take a look.

 

Out of curiosity, how long does it take your system to generate 480 tiles?  I tried to get the whole thing as one map book but ended up having to shut down CAD after letting it process for 15 minutes.

 

Norm

Contributor
everblader
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 8 (389 Views)

Re: USING DATA FOR MAP BOOK NAMING SCHEME

08-31-2011 11:22 AM in reply to: nwray

Norm,

 

It takes my system about 5 minutes to generate the book. Thanks for the modified grid and dst file I greatly appriciate all your help! I have attached a spec file of my PC. Enjoy the rest of your week and have a great labor day.

 

Dave

HP Z400 Workstation
Intel Xeon W3550 -Cores 4
12GB Triple-Channel DDR3 @ 533MHz
2-HP LE2201w @ 1680x1050
ATI FirePro V3800 (FireGL) (HP)
MS Windows 7 64-bit
Distinguished Contributor
nwray
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎03-10-2008
Message 8 of 8 (386 Views)

Re: USING DATA FOR MAP BOOK NAMING SCHEME

08-31-2011 11:35 AM in reply to: everblader

No problem, glad it worked out!  Seems like too many posts end up with no solution.  One thing I forgot to change was the scale note on the sheets.  It says 1:200 (my normal map book scale), but I ended up actually scaling everything at a 1:50.

 

I need to get my IT department to approve an upgrade to a 64 bit OS.  The 4GB limit for RAM on 32 bit means that my normal map book, which only has 75 sheets, tends to be slow, and will crash CAD periodically.  Hope you have a good weekend also.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.