AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
wadeburcham4557
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎07-01-2006
Message 1 of 12 (373 Views)
Accepted Solution

Trouble inserting JPG2000 at correct location and scale

373 Views, 11 Replies
12-01-2013 07:07 PM

I have downloaded JPG2000 files from the National Map.  I can insert the image, but it doesn't recogonize where it is supposed to be.

http://screencast.com/t/7QGcKGyAFD

I'm using Civil 3D, 2013 on a 32 bit machine.

Wade: the solution suggested by miner.details works well. I've illustrated that further in a quick demo:

https://chronicle.autodesk.com/main/details/5e46de85-ded6-4566-80e1-5637227b26a6

 

The point we are trying to make with you is that if the *image's* coordinate system is not recognized, you have to override it to get it projected correctly in your drawing.

 

Thanks everyone for your contributions!

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,217
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 12 (355 Views)

Re: Trouble inserting JPG2000 at correct location and scale

12-01-2013 11:01 PM in reply to: wadeburcham4557

Hi,

 

I have tried it with C3D 2013 x64 and it was working correct using _MAPCONNECT as you showed (I also didn't get the dialog for insertion point).

So you may verify

  • what servicepack you have installed
  • what happens, when you use command _MAPIINSERT to get the image referenced into the drawing.
  •  

    Good luck, - alfred -

    BTW: what operating system do you have?

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Alfred NESWADBA
    Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    *Expert Elite*
    antoniovinci
    Posts: 1,705
    Registered: ‎06-03-2011
    Message 3 of 12 (350 Views)

    Re: Trouble inserting JPG2000 at correct location and scale

    12-02-2013 02:03 AM in reply to: wadeburcham4557

    In the meanwhile, I converted your imagery to a true Geotiff: check the attachment out, sir.

    Member
    miner.details
    Posts: 3
    Registered: ‎08-04-2009
    Message 4 of 12 (332 Views)

    Re: Trouble inserting JPG2000 at correct location and scale

    12-02-2013 08:49 PM in reply to: wadeburcham4557

    Is there a chance you do not have a co-ordinate system assigned to the drawing you are importing the jpg into?

    Use MAPCSASSIGN to assign your desired co ordinate system to your drawing - then when using MAPCONNECT you might also have to check that the co-ordinate system has been recognised. See JPG screenshot attached.

    regards

     

     

     

    Valued Contributor
    wadeburcham4557
    Posts: 53
    Registered: ‎07-01-2006
    Message 5 of 12 (327 Views)

    Re: Trouble inserting JPG2000 at correct location and scale

    12-02-2013 09:05 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

    I'm using service pack 2.

    When I use mapinsert, it comes in correct.  Wonder how that works?  Anyway, I have a massive set of files and need it to set it up so that the jpg is not inserted but referenced so that I can set up the scale range to only load that portion of the maps in the area I'm working in.

     

     

    Valued Contributor
    wadeburcham4557
    Posts: 53
    Registered: ‎07-01-2006
    Message 6 of 12 (324 Views)

    Re: Trouble inserting JPG2000 at correct location and scale

    12-02-2013 09:06 PM in reply to: miner.details

    I believe the coordinate system was set up...http://screencast.com/t/4Tvxvtl7lW

    Valued Contributor
    wadeburcham4557
    Posts: 53
    Registered: ‎07-01-2006
    Message 7 of 12 (324 Views)

    Re: Trouble inserting JPG2000 at correct location and scale

    12-02-2013 09:08 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

    Thanks for converting the jpg to a geotiff.  However, the actual file I'm trying to insert it a jp2.  I didn't upload it due to it's size.  Here is the actual file that I need to insert:  https://thompsonengineering.box.com/shared/static/cxodzwnibi5csvznzqw2.jp2

    *Expert Elite*
    Alfred.NESWADBA
    Posts: 9,217
    Registered: ‎06-29-2007
    Message 8 of 12 (316 Views)

    Re: Trouble inserting JPG2000 at correct location and scale

    12-03-2013 12:01 AM in reply to: wadeburcham4557

    Hi,

     

    >> I have a massive set of files and need it to set it up so that the jpg is not inserted but referenced

    command _MAPIINSERT (with double "I") does not embed the files, it references them too (and in most cases faster than _MAPCONNECT manages then the images while e.g. running PAN or ZOOM).

    If it works, use it.

     

    - alfred -

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Alfred NESWADBA
    Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    *Expert Elite*
    antoniovinci
    Posts: 1,705
    Registered: ‎06-03-2011
    Message 9 of 12 (313 Views)

    Re: Trouble inserting JPG2000 at correct location and scale

    12-03-2013 01:16 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

    Referencing images, rather than embedding, is more efficient, just because every change in one raster yields an immediate effect in all the DWGs including it.

    About Geotiff vs Jpeg2000, I prefer the first one since it supports light 256 colors, whilst J2K only the heavy RGB format.

    *Expert Elite*
    Alfred.NESWADBA
    Posts: 9,217
    Registered: ‎06-29-2007
    Message 10 of 12 (309 Views)

    Re: Trouble inserting JPG2000 at correct location and scale

    12-03-2013 01:43 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

    Hi,

     

    >> Referencing images, rather than embedding, is more efficient

    Yep, both commands (_MAPCONNECT and also _MAPIINSERT) are using referencing mechanism, that's what I wrote, at least what I wanted to say/write :smileywink:

     

    - alfred -

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Alfred NESWADBA
    Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Post to the Community

    Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

    New Post
    Need installation help?

    Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.