AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,061
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 11 of 15 (107 Views)

Re: trim or break a 3dpolyline at a specific z coord

07-03-2013 03:58 PM in reply to: parkr4st

parkr4st wrote:

should the first break point be 5.51,0,5.51?  Your input gives the break at 7.7405,0,7.7405 for me

 

Thanks

 

dave

 

 


That's the difference between 2006 and 2010 & up, Relative and absolute coordinates on input from the keyboard.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Contributor
User48
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-21-2010
Message 12 of 15 (98 Views)

Re: trim or break a 3dpolyline at a specific z coord

07-04-2013 07:55 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Can you provide a complete working script?  This content based on your posts does break the 3DPOLY but it breaks it at the wrong elevation.  Please provide a full script to demonstrate breaking it at elevation 5.51.

 

-------------------

_3DPOLY

0,0,0
10,0,10

_BREAK
_L
10,0,5.51
@

-------------------

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,747
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 13 of 15 (88 Views)

Re: trim or break a 3dpolyline at a specific z coord

07-04-2013 11:24 AM in reply to: User48

My fault, gentlemen, I wish to apologize for that, 'cause the point 10,0,5.51 does not belong to the line 0,0,0-10,0,10 indeed.

I don't see an easy solution, I mean without using trigonometry.

On the other hand, the _SLICE command (by Z=5.51 plane) works only with solids, not with simple lines.

Sorry again...

 

 

*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 2,335
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 14 of 15 (83 Views)

Re: trim or break a 3dpolyline at a specific z coord

07-04-2013 12:20 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

 

Hello

 

Sorry for my answer, I thought that Antonio has the right solution !?

 

Maybe I have a "stupid/bad" solution which needs a few commands !

So a Lisp/VLisp programm will be very useful ...

 

Draw a SOLID (Box in fact) : Height = 5.51 - which "includes the line" ...

Explode the SOLID, so you get 3DFaces ...

Draw a Line from (.xy) at beginning (Snap=END) of your line (0,0,0)

when asking for Z; click with (Snap=NEA) at the Face (which is at Z=5.51)

then draw the line with Ortho ...

 

I think that the Intersection of your first line and "my" line is the point you were looking for !?

 

Bye, Pat

 

Bye, Pat ( Supporting Troops )
If you are happy with my answer please mark "Accept as Solution" and if very happy please give me a Kudos (Compliment) - Thanks
Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 504
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 15 of 15 (75 Views)

Re: trim or break a 3dpolyline at a specific z coord

07-04-2013 06:09 PM in reply to: shallowhead

If you were to consider third party software, MapWorks Base contains two tools to handle this.  First is 3dPoly Mark Elevations which marks all points of a specified elevation along a selection set of 3dPolylines.  Second (and most important in this case) is 3dPoly Break At Elevation which breaks a selected 3dPoly at a specified elevation along a segment (also preserves Extended Entity Data on the newly created polyline).

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!