AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
archaeoman
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-27-2013
Message 1 of 6 (242 Views)
Accepted Solution

Transfer text created in Task Pane to a Layer

242 Views, 5 Replies
07-15-2013 03:16 PM

Dear all,

 

I am using MAP3D 2012 and have the following query. Under Task Pane and Display Manager I have added drawing data to a drawing layer. Added Style>Text and selected the Object data I want to have displayed (e.g. drawing number).

 

Since the drawing is going to be accessed also by users with a simple AutoCAD version I want to copy paste the text from display Manager to a Layer In layer Properties  Management.

 

However, every time I create a new layer and copy paste the text does not appear or carry through.

 

What I am doing wrong?

 

Thank you for your help.

Hi,

 

you can use the command "maptoacad" (since 2012 I think). It will convert a "Map" drawing with DisplayManager elements (drawing data or fdo data) to a vanilla CAD drawing. use export option "editable", a template is not required (only works with fdo data).

 

good luck,

rob

*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 2,407
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 2 of 6 (220 Views)

Re: Transfer text created in Task Pane to a Layer

07-16-2013 12:32 AM in reply to: archaeoman

 

Hello from France

 

I am not sure to well understand your problem !?

 

Why you don't let only this text layer ON, then doing a MAP FDO Export to DWG ?

 

The only way to see OD (Object Data) for NON MAP/CIVIL AutoCAD users is to have real text !

 

Bye, Pat

 

Bye, Pat ( Supporting Troops )
If you are happy with my answer please mark "Accept as Solution" and if very happy please give me a Kudos (Compliment) - Thanks
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,785
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 3 of 6 (216 Views)

Re: Transfer text created in Task Pane to a Layer

07-16-2013 01:39 AM in reply to: braudpat

Bonjour, monsieur.

I think the OP is talking about Map's task pane layers, not about 'normal' Autocad layers...

*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 2,407
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 4 of 6 (210 Views)

Re: Transfer text created in Task Pane to a Layer

07-16-2013 02:05 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

 

Hello Antonio

 

If we are speaking about FDO text layers !

 

My solution 1 is OK :

>>> Why you don't let only this text layer ON, then doing a MAP FDO Export to DWG ? <<<

Command (maybe): MAPTOACAD     = Save Current Map to AutoCAD

and then INSERT the DWG created in 0,0 (Exploded)

so you will get "good real" AutoCAD texts ...

 

Bye, Pat

 

Bye, Pat ( Supporting Troops )
If you are happy with my answer please mark "Accept as Solution" and if very happy please give me a Kudos (Compliment) - Thanks
Mentor
Robert_Fritz
Posts: 175
Registered: ‎12-08-2011
Message 5 of 6 (208 Views)

Re: Transfer text created in Task Pane to a Layer

07-16-2013 02:06 AM in reply to: archaeoman

Hi,

 

you can use the command "maptoacad" (since 2012 I think). It will convert a "Map" drawing with DisplayManager elements (drawing data or fdo data) to a vanilla CAD drawing. use export option "editable", a template is not required (only works with fdo data).

 

good luck,

rob

http://raumpatrouille3d.blogspot.ch/
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,092
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 6 (200 Views)

Re: Transfer text created in Task Pane to a Layer

07-16-2013 03:50 AM in reply to: archaeoman

archaeoman wrote:

Dear all,

 

I am using MAP3D 2012 and have the following query. Under Task Pane and Display Manager I have added drawing data to a drawing layer. Added Style>Text and selected the Object data I want to have displayed (e.g. drawing number).

 

Since the drawing is going to be accessed also by users with a simple AutoCAD version I want to copy paste the text from display Manager to a Layer In layer Properties  Management.

 


You need to do an alter property query and change the layer for the text there.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.