AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
archaeoman
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎05-27-2013
Message 1 of 6 (230 Views)
Accepted Solution

Transfer text created in Task Pane to a Layer

230 Views, 5 Replies
07-15-2013 03:16 PM

Dear all,

 

I am using MAP3D 2012 and have the following query. Under Task Pane and Display Manager I have added drawing data to a drawing layer. Added Style>Text and selected the Object data I want to have displayed (e.g. drawing number).

 

Since the drawing is going to be accessed also by users with a simple AutoCAD version I want to copy paste the text from display Manager to a Layer In layer Properties  Management.

 

However, every time I create a new layer and copy paste the text does not appear or carry through.

 

What I am doing wrong?

 

Thank you for your help.

*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 2,001
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 2 of 6 (208 Views)

Re: Transfer text created in Task Pane to a Layer

07-16-2013 12:32 AM in reply to: archaeoman

 

Hello from France

 

I am not sure to well understand your problem !?

 

Why you don't let only this text layer ON, then doing a MAP FDO Export to DWG ?

 

The only way to see OD (Object Data) for NON MAP/CIVIL AutoCAD users is to have real text !

 

Bye, Pat

 

Bye, Pat

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,658
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 3 of 6 (204 Views)

Re: Transfer text created in Task Pane to a Layer

07-16-2013 01:39 AM in reply to: braudpat

Bonjour, monsieur.

I think the OP is talking about Map's task pane layers, not about 'normal' Autocad layers...

*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 2,001
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 4 of 6 (198 Views)

Re: Transfer text created in Task Pane to a Layer

07-16-2013 02:05 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

 

Hello Antonio

 

If we are speaking about FDO text layers !

 

My solution 1 is OK :

>>> Why you don't let only this text layer ON, then doing a MAP FDO Export to DWG ? <<<

Command (maybe): MAPTOACAD     = Save Current Map to AutoCAD

and then INSERT the DWG created in 0,0 (Exploded)

so you will get "good real" AutoCAD texts ...

 

Bye, Pat

 

Bye, Pat

Mentor
Robert_Fritz
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎12-08-2011
Message 5 of 6 (196 Views)

Re: Transfer text created in Task Pane to a Layer

07-16-2013 02:06 AM in reply to: archaeoman

Hi,

 

you can use the command "maptoacad" (since 2012 I think). It will convert a "Map" drawing with DisplayManager elements (drawing data or fdo data) to a vanilla CAD drawing. use export option "editable", a template is not required (only works with fdo data).

 

good luck,

rob

http://raumpatrouille3d.blogspot.ch/
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,956
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 6 (188 Views)

Re: Transfer text created in Task Pane to a Layer

07-16-2013 03:50 AM in reply to: archaeoman

archaeoman wrote:

Dear all,

 

I am using MAP3D 2012 and have the following query. Under Task Pane and Display Manager I have added drawing data to a drawing layer. Added Style>Text and selected the Object data I want to have displayed (e.g. drawing number).

 

Since the drawing is going to be accessed also by users with a simple AutoCAD version I want to copy paste the text from display Manager to a Layer In layer Properties  Management.

 


You need to do an alter property query and change the layer for the text there.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.