AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,856
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 10 (1,799 Views)

Thiessen polygons/voronoi diagram

1799 Views, 9 Replies
06-25-2011 02:31 AM
Any aware if these can be created in map? I can only find 6 year old posts about this so I guess there is no great demand!!
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Product Support
Cecilia.Fantini
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-30-2007
Message 2 of 10 (1,758 Views)

Re: Thiessen polygons/voronoi diagram

06-30-2011 03:57 AM in reply to: neilyj

Unfortunately, AutoCAD Map 3D (or Civil 3D) don't have native support for Thiessen/Veronoi polygon analysis.
This has been logged with our development team as a wished enhancement for future releases. However, as you said there is no great demand for this functionality.

The only thing I can suggest is to search on the Internet for existing applications that can do this like for example the OpenSource applications QGIS - www.qgis.org  (with the "ftools" plugin - www.ftools.ca) or GRASS (http://grass.osgeo.org/).

 

Hope this helps.

Cecilia



Cecilia Fantini
Product Support
Autodesk
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,856
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 10 (1,755 Views)

Re: Thiessen polygons/voronoi diagram

06-30-2011 04:14 AM in reply to: Cecilia.Fantini

Thanks for the reply.

 

It remains a bit disappointing though that Map 3D doesn't support this functionality and the user needs to go to 3rd party tools. If the 3rd party tools provide the functionality, then there must surely be a demand??

 

It isn't rocket science to produce these diagrams but it is very tedious to produce them manually.....

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Product Support
Cecilia.Fantini
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-30-2007
Message 4 of 10 (1,753 Views)

Re: Thiessen polygons/voronoi diagram

06-30-2011 04:42 AM in reply to: neilyj

Thank you for your feedback.
I fully understand your point and I have forwarded your comments about the importance of this missing functionality to the product development team.
If you want, you can also use the Product Feedback page at http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794 for providing further comments about any improvements you would like to see within our products.

Thank you.
Kind Regards,

Cecilia



Cecilia Fantini
Product Support
Autodesk
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,856
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 10 (1,750 Views)

Re: Thiessen polygons/voronoi diagram

06-30-2011 04:45 AM in reply to: Cecilia.Fantini

Ok - thanks for this

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,015
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 10 (1,737 Views)

Re: Thiessen polygons/voronoi diagram

06-30-2011 11:02 AM in reply to: neilyj

neilyj wrote:

Ok - thanks for this


I see you submitting a few "feedback" now that you have a link to that site.  :smileyhappy:

Good luck.


 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,856
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 7 of 10 (1,727 Views)

Re: Thiessen polygons/voronoi diagram

07-01-2011 12:45 AM in reply to: Murph

Indeed - also submitted "feedback" about the dreadful retrograde transparency selection in 2012 but I don't expect a solution any time soon......

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Distinguished Contributor
phmurphy
Posts: 387
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 8 of 10 (1,698 Views)

Re: Thiessen polygons/voronoi diagram

07-06-2011 06:45 AM in reply to: neilyj

I have been waiting for a long time for the Thiessen polygons.  I have used the free package called R, and even the old old ARcView 3.2 could do this.  Map is in last place in the race to get this done.  It is a valuable tool for all kinds of natural resource issues as well as things like radio tower placement.  I wish Autodesk would put some money into getting this done.

 

Pat

Valued Mentor
gluckett
Posts: 391
Registered: ‎10-10-2003
Message 9 of 10 (1,684 Views)

Re: Thiessen polygons/voronoi diagram

07-06-2011 10:28 AM in reply to: phmurphy

There is a free GIS package called qGIS (or Quantum GIS)  - I use it for items like this.  You may want to dump out your data from Map 3D as SHP files (or raster) before you use it.  I have it running on both Windows 7 and my Mac Book.  

 

It's part of the osgeo.org suite of open source products (that also includes MapGuide).

 

qGIS has items such as Delauney triangulation and Veronoi polygons (among tons of other items).  Once you have done your analysis, just drag and drop the SHP files back into Map 3D.

 

gordon

 

Distinguished Contributor
phmurphy
Posts: 387
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 10 of 10 (1,677 Views)

Re: Thiessen polygons/voronoi diagram

07-06-2011 03:19 PM in reply to: gluckett

Thanks for the source, I will get it for future reference.

 

Pat

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.