AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 1 of 8 (268 Views)

Surface

268 Views, 7 Replies
03-03-2011 10:43 AM

I made this surface/Loft based on depth measurement from the shore.
The nodes of the short polylines are sea depth or Z-value every 5 meter of the shore.
X and Y are same coordinates for sea level.
The surface hopefully shows sea bottom.
This drawing is delivered as a 2d image on paper. But looking at the surface from top view does not give any clue about the structure of the sea bottom. Therefore I was looking for a "color scheme", as in picture a, which could be representative for depth variation.
Is this possible? My guess is that I would need some contours for that but how could I extract contours from my surface?
I am using MAP 3D 2008. 

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,980
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 8 (264 Views)

Re: Surface

03-03-2011 11:15 AM in reply to: teflon

To use any of the styles in map for that you need to convert that AutoCAD surface into a Map raster surface. Do you have point file to go with that?

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 3 of 8 (254 Views)

Re: Surface

03-03-2011 03:23 PM in reply to: Murph

Hi!

I have this surface to work with.

What do you mean by point file?

I just used polylines with 6 nodes.

I supposed I could extract these nodes/points.

So where do I go from here?

Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 4 of 8 (248 Views)

Re: Surface

03-03-2011 04:57 PM in reply to: Murph

By the way if you mean "Survey Extension" or "Survey Tools" - I do not have these.

I do not know how to get them either! I tried on the homepage but no success!

 

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,980
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 8 (236 Views)

Re: Surface

03-04-2011 05:50 AM in reply to: teflon

Sorry, I missed the 2008 version you said you are using. I don't think they had the create surface tools for that version.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 6 of 8 (226 Views)

Re: Surface

03-04-2011 10:27 AM in reply to: Murph

So I have to start all over again in some other program such as Civil?

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,980
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 8 (224 Views)

Re: Surface

03-04-2011 10:32 AM in reply to: teflon

If you have Civil 3D I woudls and create a Civil 3D surface from the data not a vanilla AutoCAD surface. If nothing else get the trial version of 2011 Map3D and create raster surface from points for it.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 8 of 8 (198 Views)

Re: Surface

03-05-2011 05:16 PM in reply to: Murph

I got the trial version of 3d MAP.

How should this PXY file be written?

Could you send me a sample of a .pxy?

I made a simple surface by 6 points from a .txt file but it does not look as smooth as the one made in 3d MAP 2008 by "Surface/Loft".

  

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.