AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 1 of 8 (270 Views)

Surface

270 Views, 7 Replies
03-03-2011 10:43 AM

I made this surface/Loft based on depth measurement from the shore.
The nodes of the short polylines are sea depth or Z-value every 5 meter of the shore.
X and Y are same coordinates for sea level.
The surface hopefully shows sea bottom.
This drawing is delivered as a 2d image on paper. But looking at the surface from top view does not give any clue about the structure of the sea bottom. Therefore I was looking for a "color scheme", as in picture a, which could be representative for depth variation.
Is this possible? My guess is that I would need some contours for that but how could I extract contours from my surface?
I am using MAP 3D 2008. 

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,062
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 8 (266 Views)

Re: Surface

03-03-2011 11:15 AM in reply to: teflon

To use any of the styles in map for that you need to convert that AutoCAD surface into a Map raster surface. Do you have point file to go with that?

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 3 of 8 (256 Views)

Re: Surface

03-03-2011 03:23 PM in reply to: Murph

Hi!

I have this surface to work with.

What do you mean by point file?

I just used polylines with 6 nodes.

I supposed I could extract these nodes/points.

So where do I go from here?

Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 4 of 8 (250 Views)

Re: Surface

03-03-2011 04:57 PM in reply to: Murph

By the way if you mean "Survey Extension" or "Survey Tools" - I do not have these.

I do not know how to get them either! I tried on the homepage but no success!

 

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,062
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 8 (238 Views)

Re: Surface

03-04-2011 05:50 AM in reply to: teflon

Sorry, I missed the 2008 version you said you are using. I don't think they had the create surface tools for that version.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 6 of 8 (228 Views)

Re: Surface

03-04-2011 10:27 AM in reply to: Murph

So I have to start all over again in some other program such as Civil?

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,062
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 8 (226 Views)

Re: Surface

03-04-2011 10:32 AM in reply to: teflon

If you have Civil 3D I woudls and create a Civil 3D surface from the data not a vanilla AutoCAD surface. If nothing else get the trial version of 2011 Map3D and create raster surface from points for it.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Mentor
teflon
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 8 of 8 (200 Views)

Re: Surface

03-05-2011 05:16 PM in reply to: Murph

I got the trial version of 3d MAP.

How should this PXY file be written?

Could you send me a sample of a .pxy?

I made a simple surface by 6 points from a .txt file but it does not look as smooth as the one made in 3d MAP 2008 by "Surface/Loft".

  

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!