AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
jwest
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 1 of 10 (279 Views)

SHP File

279 Views, 9 Replies
03-07-2012 06:20 AM

When importing a shp file for street names into my map Map 3D see's it as a polygon. When I edit it to text it has 4 street names in the shape of a polygon. Is there any way to convert this shape to show only one street name?

Distinguished Contributor
nwray
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎03-10-2008
Message 2 of 10 (243 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-08-2012 08:10 AM in reply to: jwest

Could you post a portion of the file so I could take a look at it?

 

Norm

Active Member
jwest
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 3 of 10 (225 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 04:15 AM in reply to: jwest

Here is the shape file i was asking about. Thanks for the help.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,086
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 10 (223 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 04:26 AM in reply to: jwest

What coomand are you using to create the text? I used map annonation blocks and only get one label per polygon.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Member
jwest
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 5 of 10 (220 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 04:29 AM in reply to: jwest

Im new to map, i just pulled it in as a shape file. Should i do something diffrent?

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,086
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 10 (218 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 04:36 AM in reply to: jwest

jwest wrote:

Im new to map, i just pulled it in as a shape file. Should i do something diffrent?



Pulled it in? HOW, what command did you use? Mapimport, drag and drop from windows explorer, dataconnect or what?  How do you know it has 4 streetnames? What are you using for creating the text lables?

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Member
jwest
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 7 of 10 (212 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 05:22 AM in reply to: jwest

Dataconnect.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,086
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 10 (208 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 05:33 AM in reply to: jwest

I'm only getting one label with dataconnect. (2011 version)

 

streeNames.png

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Contributor
Nero1960
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-25-2010
Message 9 of 10 (205 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 05:45 AM in reply to: jwest
Spoiler
 

Hi JWest...

opened your shapefile in ArcInfo and it is a polygon and there are street names under the field "TextString"

 

opened Map 3D and brought the shapefile

I connected to the shapefile...then changed the style to show just the text...in the Task pane click on Style

then see if you can change the properties to mimic my attachments...

 

hope this helps...

 

 

GO Texans!!!
Active Member
jwest
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 10 of 10 (176 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 08:03 AM in reply to: jwest

Thanks NERO that worked great.....

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.