AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Post 1 of 10

SHP File

281 Views, 9 Replies
03-07-2012 06:20 AM

When importing a shp file for street names into my map Map 3D see's it as a polygon. When I edit it to text it has 4 street names in the shape of a polygon. Is there any way to convert this shape to show only one street name?

Distinguished Contributor
116 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-10-2008
Post 2 of 10

Re: SHP File

03-08-2012 08:10 AM in reply to: jwest

Could you post a portion of the file so I could take a look at it?

 

Norm

Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Post 3 of 10

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 04:15 AM in reply to: jwest

Here is the shape file i was asking about. Thanks for the help.

*Expert Elite*
2,142 Posts
207 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 4 of 10

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 04:26 AM in reply to: jwest

What coomand are you using to create the text? I used map annonation blocks and only get one label per polygon.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Post 5 of 10

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 04:29 AM in reply to: jwest

Im new to map, i just pulled it in as a shape file. Should i do something diffrent?

*Expert Elite*
2,142 Posts
207 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 6 of 10

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 04:36 AM in reply to: jwest

jwest wrote:

Im new to map, i just pulled it in as a shape file. Should i do something diffrent?



Pulled it in? HOW, what command did you use? Mapimport, drag and drop from windows explorer, dataconnect or what?  How do you know it has 4 streetnames? What are you using for creating the text lables?

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Post 7 of 10

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 05:22 AM in reply to: jwest

Dataconnect.

*Expert Elite*
2,142 Posts
207 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 8 of 10

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 05:33 AM in reply to: jwest

I'm only getting one label with dataconnect. (2011 version)

 

streeNames.png

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-25-2010
Post 9 of 10

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 05:45 AM in reply to: jwest
Spoiler
 

Hi JWest...

opened your shapefile in ArcInfo and it is a polygon and there are street names under the field "TextString"

 

opened Map 3D and brought the shapefile

I connected to the shapefile...then changed the style to show just the text...in the Task pane click on Style

then see if you can change the properties to mimic my attachments...

 

hope this helps...

 

 

GO Texans!!!
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Post 10 of 10

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 08:03 AM in reply to: jwest

Thanks NERO that worked great.....

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!