AutoCAD Map 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Map 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Map 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Selecting points from a point cloud

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
2496 Views, 4 Replies

Selecting points from a point cloud

Greetings,

I was wondering if there is a way to select specific 3D points out of a point cloud (.pcg).

I am new with Autocad and handling of point clouds so sorry if it is a silly question.

I can think of various things that you might want to do, as in clean up a bit the data or even delete some areas that you are not interested with.

Additionally, one might want to do some calculations, so selecting points first and the running a list script to use that points can be handy as well.

Thank you in advance

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Alfred.NESWADBA
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi,

>> so sorry if it is a silly question

don't worry about that 😉

>> if there is a way to select specific 3D points out of a point cloud

No, at least I don't know a way if selecting or modifying the content (the points) of a pointcloud.

You can use the objectsnap to get exact positions for constructing based on these points, but that's it. I would also think that the time for rebuilding the indexed pointcloud-file (and these can hold a lot of points) would be much to slow to modify that in runtime.

May be there are some applications that can do that, but once more, imho AutoCAD itself can't.

- alfred -

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at ... blog.hollaus.at ... CDay 2024
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(not an Autodesk consultant)
Message 3 of 5
jporter
in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA