AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
mrrgoncalves
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-01-2013
Message 1 of 7 (514 Views)
Accepted Solution

SDF to Blocks with attributes

514 Views, 6 Replies
05-19-2013 09:51 AM

Hello everyone,


I'm looking for a map tool that can convert feature data from an SDF file or SHP to autocad block's with attributes data. My client just want blocks with attributes and dont work with sdf or similares, they extract the attributes and then work them in other software, so, i wonder if there is a autocad map tool that make the conversion from feature data SDF to blocks with attributes, that will make the work mutch more easier and fast. 

Other question relational with blocks. How can we link block attributes and excell in real time, where i could change cells data in excell and the update happens in the open drawing and vice-versa?

And would like to know if there is a way to make this happen without vba tools or lisp's...just with map tools. 

Thank you,
Best regards, 
Mário


Best regards,

Mário Gonçalves
C3D2011
MAP3D2011

If you have predefined blocks with the attributtes already you ccan use the map import and select blocks and attributtes. The trouble is the blocks w/attributtes must be defined and the attribute tags must match the field names in the SDF/shp files.(including uppercase/lowercase) There is no Out Of The Box easy button for it.

 

For your second question, Excel is not a database and Map3D likes databases better than spreadsheets. However take a look at the DataExtaction tools that are part of the standard AutoCAD. There's a lot of users of AutoCAD that use that for part lists etc. A search in the AutoCAD groups may be worth a look at.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,092
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 7 (499 Views)

Re: SDF to Blocks with attributes

05-19-2013 04:50 PM in reply to: mrrgoncalves

If you have predefined blocks with the attributtes already you ccan use the map import and select blocks and attributtes. The trouble is the blocks w/attributtes must be defined and the attribute tags must match the field names in the SDF/shp files.(including uppercase/lowercase) There is no Out Of The Box easy button for it.

 

For your second question, Excel is not a database and Map3D likes databases better than spreadsheets. However take a look at the DataExtaction tools that are part of the standard AutoCAD. There's a lot of users of AutoCAD that use that for part lists etc. A search in the AutoCAD groups may be worth a look at.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,785
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 3 of 7 (490 Views)

Re: SDF to Blocks with attributes

05-20-2013 02:13 AM in reply to: Murph

Murph wrote:

the attribute tags must match the field names in the SDF/shp files.(including uppercase/lowercase)


It doesn't matter, working with different upper/lower case as well.

The block attributes will be fed automatically by the imported shape fields: only the match tag/field is relevant, even if their number is not equal.


Example A:

  1. the block contains the "LASTname" and "FIRSTname" tags
  2. the shape contains the "lastNAME" field

only the "LASTname" attribute will get filled, while "FIRSTname" will stay empty.


Example B:

  1. the block contains the "LASTname" and "FIRSTname" tags
  2. the shape contains the "lastNAME", "FiRsTnAmE" and "CITY" fields

both "LASTname" and "FIRSTname" attributes will get filled, while "CITY" will be obviously ignored.

 

I don't use blocks&attributes, Master, but you deserve a brilliant Kudo 'cause I learned something new.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,092
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 7 (484 Views)

Re: SDF to Blocks with attributes

05-20-2013 03:27 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

The last time I used mapimport to create blocks from a shp it was case senitive.

 

OP,

Keep in mind only point type objects will convert to blocks, plines and polygon objects do not get converted.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,785
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 5 of 7 (481 Views)

Re: SDF to Blocks with attributes

05-20-2013 03:55 AM in reply to: Murph

Murph wrote:

plines and polygon objects do not get converted.


...unless you create nodes from lines, or centroids from polygons (I advise Qgis to do these operations).

About the case sensitivity, maybe is it release-dependent..?
In my Map2006, it works always as above said.

 

P.S.

Gentlemen, please pay attention at which hour Magic Murph posted: it was 6:27 am ET...

In other words, he awaked up and checked this forum out, even before cooking bacon&eggs: that's adhesion !!

 

Contributor
mrrgoncalves
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-01-2013
Message 6 of 7 (458 Views)

Re: SDF to Blocks with attributes

05-21-2013 02:32 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

It perfectly works!!!

Already have block attributes respecting case sensitive, and it works fine, thats exactly what im looking for.

A big THANK YOU for you both!

br,
Mário


Best regards,

Mário Gonçalves
C3D2011
MAP3D2011
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,092
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 7 (448 Views)

Re: SDF to Blocks with attributes

05-21-2013 04:00 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

antoniovinci wrote:

 

P.S.

Gentlemen, please pay attention at which hour Magic Murph posted: it was 6:27 am ET...

In other words, he awaked up and checked this forum out, even before cooking bacon&eggs: that's adhesion !!

 


More like 5:27 AM

 

posttime.png

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.