AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
odoshi
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎06-05-2006
Message 1 of 3 (250 Views)

Saving Map to DWG with Block Attributes

250 Views, 2 Replies
04-20-2012 04:03 AM

Hello,

 

I have used the FDO to connect to my SHP files. I have used one data attribute to get a rotation for my blocks. I have also used a feature Label to display the text I am interested in.

 

When I save to DWG, the feature labels come in as Text. I would like the text to go to the correct block attribute.

 

Is there a way to do this? I did not see anything in the Style Editor to use my blocks' attributes, only the geometry.

 

I am aware of using MAPIMPORT to set attributes from the data, but they do not come in rotated, and I have more conditions on which block to use, not just one field to decide the block name.

 

Thanks,

Mike

www.civil3d.guru
-------------------------------------------
Rockin' Civil 3D 2015 on a 13-inch MacBook Air | Intel i5 | 4GB RAM | 128GB SSD | Intel HD5000
Valued Contributor
pg002a
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎08-03-2010
Message 2 of 3 (217 Views)

Re: Saving Map to DWG with Block Attributes

04-25-2012 02:14 AM in reply to: odoshi

You have to style SHP connection points(add symbols with rotation also) to same block you want to convert those to DWG after. Then you have to make drawing template where you must bring in blocks with names exatly same like you styled in shp points(symbol names), name must be equal also you must define attribute name eqatly same like you have in SHP point data field.

Then you save map to dwg and need to use select template during process and after that all points are converted to blocks and also blocks are with attributes and right rotation also.

 

Mentor
odoshi
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎06-05-2006
Message 3 of 3 (203 Views)

Re: Saving Map to DWG with Block Attributes

04-25-2012 10:52 AM in reply to: odoshi

Thanks you. Looks like I will use the MAPIMPORT method and post process with a .NET routine.

www.civil3d.guru
-------------------------------------------
Rockin' Civil 3D 2015 on a 13-inch MacBook Air | Intel i5 | 4GB RAM | 128GB SSD | Intel HD5000
Announcements
Autodesk Alert | We are currently working on restoring Previous Version License request access in the Autodesk Subscription Center. If you are a subscription customer and would like to request a Previous Version License, please use this link as a temporary workaround. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.