AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
agmartin
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-24-2012
Message 1 of 3 (230 Views)

Saving FDO layers into a DWG only works in the same PC

230 Views, 2 Replies
10-18-2013 06:20 AM

Hi,

 

We (Our company) recently bought  9 AutoCAD Map 3D 2014 Network Licenses. Our idea is to work with a PostGIS Database where all the data will be stored, getting rid of DWG drawings.

 

The thing is that we don't want the users to be able to add postgis tables to the workspace, because they could add tables that we don't want them to dit. So the idea is to create DWGs with the FDO layers we want for each user. So the steps would be:

 

- Link the 3 postgis tables we want via FDO in the workspace.

- Save that as DWG.

- The next time i open that DWG in my PC everything is fine.

 

The problem is that if i put that DWG in the local network or i copy it to another user's desktop, the user opens it, there are only errors and the layers won't load.

 

So my conclussion is that a DWG with FDO layers only can be openned in the same PC where it was saved.

 

Is that correct or am i doing something wrong?

 

Is there another solution for my approach?

 

Regars,

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,994
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 3 (210 Views)

Re: Saving FDO layers into a DWG only works in the same PC

10-18-2013 12:05 PM in reply to: agmartin

Hi,

 

>> copy it to another user's desktop, the user opens it, there are only errors

And the errors are ...???

 

One basic question for now: did you login with the same Windows user account on the "other desktop" or is that another user with other permissions on your network and your database?

 

And I would not need a DWG with connected datasources, I would create connections, a basic stylization and save that as .LAYER, then in a new project just drag&drop the .LAYER files into your drawing and the connection is done. Independent from any drawing and so that works also with existing drawings :smileywink:

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
agmartin
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-24-2012
Message 3 of 3 (136 Views)

Re: Saving FDO layers into a DWG only works in the same PC

01-17-2014 06:09 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA
Hi Alfred,

Thanks for your reply.

The other user is logged in with another user in another desktop.

Ill take into account your idea.

Regards,
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.