AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-12-2006
Post 1 of 15

Raster Transparency

151 Views, 14 Replies
10-04-2006 03:26 AM
I have inserted a raster (attached, as small as possible) and want to get the white background transparent so that I can place the outline over another background.

I have read all the help files I can find and it just doesn't want to work for me. I have tried in both 2004 and 2006 without success. Can anyone help?

In the properties window under "Misc" I have set transparency to "yes", but it doesn't seem to know what color I want to be transparent. Under properties ->"general" I can change the color which only alters the framing boundary box, not the entire white background which (from the help files) sounds like it should.

Any suggestions are very much appreciated!!
Distinguished Contributor
184 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-22-2006
Post 2 of 15

Re: Raster Transparency

10-04-2006 07:30 AM in reply to: tcelina
I think you should try reading the Help file, looking in particular for "transparency, changing transparent color"
Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-12-2006
Post 3 of 15

Re: Raster Transparency

10-04-2006 09:22 AM in reply to: tcelina
I did. And it didn't help. Which is why I posted here and included the raster I am trying to attach so that someone could have a look and try to help me.

If you have downloaded the attached raster and followed to procedure in that help file and succeeded in making the background color transparent I would like to hear about it. Otherwise, that was not a particularly helpful post.

Re: Raster Transparency

10-04-2006 10:34 AM in reply to: tcelina
Your image appears to be a non-bitonal image. Look up bitonal images in help
for some pointers.

Murph

wrote in message news:5349781@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have inserted a raster (attached, as small as possible) and want to get
the white background transparent so that I can place the outline over
another background.

I have read all the help files I can find and it just doesn't want to work
for me. I have tried in both 2004 and 2006 without success. Can anyone
help?

In the properties window under "Misc" I have set transparency to "yes", but
it doesn't seem to know what color I want to be transparent. Under
properties ->"genera
l" I can change the color which only alters the framing boundary box, not
the entire white background which (from the help files) sounds like it
should.

Any suggestions are very much appreciated!!
Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-12-2006
Post 5 of 15

Re: Raster Transparency

10-04-2006 11:56 PM in reply to: tcelina
This is what the help file says:

----------------------------

To change the color that is transparent in a graysale or color image
Zoom in close to the image so that you can accurately select the color.
Click the image frame.
Right-click the image. Click Properties.
In the Properties palette, select Transparency Color.
Click [?] to display the Transparency Color dialog box.
Click Select and pick the desired color on the image. Click OK.
To turn on transparency, select Transparency in the Properties palette and set it to Yes.

-----------------------------------

I have actually already read the help files, just as I originally said I had, and have found that this procedure does not work. Again, if anyone has attempted this procedure using the raster I have attached and has succeeded in making the background color transparent, I would like to know how they managed it!

Thank you.
Distinguished Contributor
184 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-22-2006
Post 6 of 15

Re: Raster Transparency

10-05-2006 12:42 AM in reply to: tcelina
The process does indeed work.

The problem in your case, is that your image, contains more than just black & white. It contains varying levels of grey. This is why you are unable satisfactorily to set the white portion of your image to be transparent.
I tried it myself by downloading your image, inserting it into a drawing, and following the procedures outlined above.
Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-12-2006
Post 7 of 15

Re: Raster Transparency

10-05-2006 02:16 AM in reply to: tcelina
So you are saying that I cannot make this image transparent?
Distinguished Contributor
184 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-22-2006
Post 8 of 15

Re: Raster Transparency

10-05-2006 03:18 AM in reply to: tcelina
with the current image you have at the moment, yes.

you would need to use some imaging software to convert the image into a bi-tonal (2 colours, usually black & white) image; before you could use transparency on it within autocad.

also, autocad does not support the use of bi-tonal jpg images. you would also need to convert it into either a png or tif file Message was edited by: Norts
Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-12-2006
Post 9 of 15

Re: Raster Transparency

10-05-2006 03:33 AM in reply to: tcelina
My original image is not a jpg, I had to convert it to upload to this forum because it was too large.

Nonetheless, the help file I quoted expicitly says the process is for "grayscale and color" images. A separate procedure exists for bitonal images. Is not this image grayscale?

If it isn't possible I don't mind giving up, but I think the help file is misleading in that case, and suggests that you can select any color in an image to make those pixels transparent.
Distinguished Contributor
184 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-22-2006
Post 10 of 15

Re: Raster Transparency

10-05-2006 03:50 AM in reply to: tcelina
In some ways the help file could be miscontrued.
If you read it carefully however, the key is in 'BI-TONAL. This means 2 colours, regardless of whether that is black & white, or blue & yellow, etc.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post