AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Board Manager
scott.sheppard
Posts: 1,114
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 1 of 66 (4,250 Views)

Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D Now Available on Autodesk Labs

4250 Views, 65 Replies
05-03-2012 10:37 AM

Project Basejump is a free technology preview on Autodesk Labs:

 

http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/basejump/

 

You can try inserting from Bing as a base layer in your AutoCAD Map 3D drawings. Please try it and reply to this thread.



Scott Sheppard
Program Manager
Autodesk Labs
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
nwray
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎03-10-2008
Message 2 of 66 (4,239 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D Now Available on Autodesk Labs

05-03-2012 02:31 PM in reply to: scott.sheppard

Is it compatible with any version other than 2013?  I'd like to try it out, but I only have 2010...

 

Norm

Active Contributor
cderrico
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎09-15-2006
Message 3 of 66 (4,218 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D Now Available on Autodesk Labs

05-04-2012 05:42 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

We have been patiently waiting for this technology for a while and look forward to providing feedback on this new feature.

 

One question:

 

The Availability states: “This technology preview will operate until June 30, 2012.”  Is that correct, that it will expire in two months?

 

Thanks,

C

Mentor
tyronebk
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 4 of 66 (4,208 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D Now Available on Autodesk Labs

05-04-2012 08:56 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

Is there any sort of help associated with this? I'm constantly seeing the error:

There was a problem adding data to Map.

I've tried a bunch of different coordinate systems and locations. It starts Adding Layers... and then throws the above error. I'm using Map 3D 2013 x64. Thanks.

Active Contributor
cderrico
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎09-15-2006
Message 5 of 66 (4,205 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D Now Available on Autodesk Labs

05-04-2012 09:34 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

Not seeing the connection issue here.

 

Civil 3D 2013 x64 connects to all three Bing Servcies without issue.

 

Thank you!!!

Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 787
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 6 of 66 (4,183 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D Now Available on Autodesk Labs

05-05-2012 11:38 PM in reply to: tyronebk

I have the same issue and disabled my firewall to test if that was the issue, and was able to connect succesfully with the firewall disabled.

 

I am using Zone Alarm 10.1.065.000.

 

I don't want to run my computer on the internet with out a firewall though. :smileysad:

 

I have sent an email to autodesk lab requesting info on which program or port I need to allow internet access in order to get it to work.

 

I checked and all the autodesk programs and components have access to the internet.

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Employee
johnerh
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
Message 7 of 66 (4,165 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D Now Available on Autodesk Labs

05-06-2012 11:47 PM in reply to: nwray

Hi Norm,

 

I'm sorry, this technology preview only opperates wtih AutoCAD Map 3D 2013 and AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013.

 

Best regards,

Hanspeter

 

Employee
johnerh
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
Message 8 of 66 (4,161 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D Now Available on Autodesk Labs

05-06-2012 11:51 PM in reply to: cderrico

Hi,

You are right, our agreement with Microsoft is that we will have this technology preview on Labs until June 30. Your feedback determines what happens next.

Best regards,

Hanspeter

 

Employee
johnerh
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-03-2012
Message 9 of 66 (4,155 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D Now Available on Autodesk Labs

05-07-2012 01:30 AM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

Hi Andrew,

 

Basejump Technology Preview connects to Bing Maps Services using https and http. Please make sure that Map 3D Client (acad.exe) is able to connect to the internet through your firewall.

 

Best regards, Hanspeter

 

New Member
daniel.appert
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-07-2012
Message 10 of 66 (4,152 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D Now Available on Autodesk Labs

05-07-2012 03:24 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

That's a pretty good thing. I can see the power we could get out of this.

 

However, the main problem I see so far is the quality of the Bing image in Switzerland: while the Bing roads are quite precise, the aerial view is somehow translated, which isn't useful when one's working.

 

ProjectBasejump_test1.jpg

 

What you see in that pricture (from foreground to background):

1. Water network (red, blue and yellow pipes, valves and labels) comes from the Oracle database

2. the "white" roads and the buildings come from the database

3. the "gray" roads were added by the Bing connection

4. the Bing raster.

 

1 and 2 use the coordinates "CH1903/GBS.LV03-M".

3 and 4 use the coordinates "WGS84.PseudoMercator".

 

What we can notice:

On the road going from bottom-right to top-left, the layers 1, 2 and 3 are quite good as it's a main road; the raster is translated...

On the road going from bottom-right to top-middle, the layers 1, 2 are good (that's normal, as the network is based on these roads); the layer 3 is no more that precise on secondary roads and the raster is translated...

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!