AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
bingeomatics
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
Message 1 of 11 (1,029 Views)

Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D 2014

1029 Views, 10 Replies
07-01-2013 04:08 AM

Hi, everyone!

It is about year I use Project Basejump (Bing Map servise) for AutoCAD Map 3D 2013 in my AutoCAD Map 2013 and it works good.

But lately I wanted to test AutoCAD Map 2014 downloading from Autodesk website demo version. I saw that Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D 2013 can not installed to the new - AutoCAD Map 2014 version. I thought that it may be possible copping DLL files from FDO AutoCAD Map 2013 folder to FDO AutoCAD Map 2014 folder and adding commands (or strings) from  "provider.xml' of AutoCAD Map 2013 to AutoCAD Map 2014 "provider.xml' file. But it did not worked. Is there any way to use Project Basejump in AutoCAD Map 2014?

Binnat Khalilov
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,982
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 11 (1,020 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D 2014

07-01-2013 04:44 AM in reply to: bingeomatics

Hi,

 

I have not tried it, but I guess it's time to look for an alternative as this project ends soon.

From >>>here<<<: [...] The technology preview will operate until August 12, 2013 [...]

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
jens.kuegl
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎07-25-2011
Message 3 of 11 (1,015 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D 2014

07-01-2013 05:24 AM in reply to: bingeomatics

I thought access to bing maps data is build in in AutoCAD Map 2014 via _geomap command? See http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MurOAa-k_q0 at 1:44 min.

 

(I can't test it because I do not have 2014)

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,982
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 11 (1,009 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D 2014

07-01-2013 05:57 AM in reply to: jens.kuegl

Hi,

 

>> build in in AutoCAD Map 2014 via _geomap command?

Sorry, not really because the new technique in 2014 does not allow to plot the area-photo.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Board Manager
scott.sheppard
Posts: 1,105
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 11 (1,005 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D 2014

07-01-2013 06:41 AM in reply to: bingeomatics

Technology previews are not intended for production use. After all, they're still in the early preview stage. They are in their infancy and are not fully baked. We are realists and recognize that some customers use them at their own risk. Technology previews are like taste tests at malls. We let people take a sip of Pepsi and a sip of Coke and tell us which one they like better. Regardless of which one they prefer, we are not promising to deliver a lifetime supply of soda. Sometimes people hate the taste of both!

 

We make technology previews available via Autodesk Labs so people can give us feedback. Most customers try them on test projects. If the technology preview works for them - great. If it does not work for them, no harm/no foul, since the customers are only playing with the technology on test projects. Since technology previews have an end date, customers try them on projects that end before the technology preview ends. Technology previews have a specific end date so no one confuses them with perpetual functionality that is associated with a product offering or subscription service. In fact, technology previews are offered for free to Subscription customers, non-Subscription customers, and educational users alike. When the previews end, I don't have a way to re-activate them. It's not part of the Labs process.

 

In this case, the team decided to get feedback from the 2013 user base because that was a large enough group of people so they could learn what they needed to learn. Although the 2014 solution does not plot, I don't see the team extending the tech preview to the 2014 users.



Scott Sheppard
Program Manager
Autodesk Labs
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
bingeomatics
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
Message 6 of 11 (965 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D 2014

07-03-2013 02:34 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

I have find the way to connect to Bing Map.

It is using Geographic Location function, it is AutoCAD function and have tested it, it work good....

Binnat Khalilov
*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 2,006
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 7 of 11 (961 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D 2014

07-03-2013 02:40 AM in reply to: bingeomatics

 

Hello from France

 

For me this new command ("GEOMAP")  is the MAIN new feature of ACAD/LT/MAP/CIVIL/AA/MEP/etc 2014

with the official support of Windows EIGHT !

and with TRUSTEDPATHS, SECURELOAD, etc ...

 

BUT BUT you can't PRINT/PLOT these beautiful Bing Maps !!!

 

So in France, a lot of people have kept theirs ACAD/MAP/CIVIL/etc 2012

+ the Autodesk Google Earth Plugin (32/64 bits for ACAD 201X) ...

 

Bye, Pat

 

Bye, Pat

Contributor
CMGBrenda
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎01-23-2009
Message 8 of 11 (830 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D 2014

08-13-2013 01:10 PM in reply to: bingeomatics

I am using Autocad Map 3D 2014...when using the command "geographiclocation" to bring in live maps,, the scale is wrong....can anyone help me with the steps in doing this correctly?

 

thanks

 

Brenda

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,982
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 9 of 11 (827 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D 2014

08-13-2013 02:39 PM in reply to: CMGBrenda

Hi,

 

>> the scale is wrong

What is the factor between correct distance and measured distance?

What projection system did you use?

What units had you active in the geolocation-dialog?

 

- alfred -

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
CMGBrenda
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎01-23-2009
Message 10 of 11 (797 Views)

Re: Project Basejump for AutoCAD Map 3D 2014

08-15-2013 11:41 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA
Hi,



I have resolved the scale factor issue.just made sure my cad drawing was set
to feet and chose feet in the dialogue box.



But..the live map is just a bit off.just a few feet.not much



Maybe the steps I am doing are not quite correct..I believe I have to have a
latitude and longitude .and then I have to drop place a marker in my
drawing.(I think that is where I am off.)



Hmmm



I can't find any good tutorials.any tips



Thanks for any help you can give me





Brenda



Brenda Koch

Cad Tech

CMG Drainage Engineering, Inc.

3555 N Mountain Ave.

Tucson, AZ 85719

Ph: (520)882-4244 ext. 7005

Fax: (520)888-1421
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.