AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
goran.klensmeden
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-14-2012
Message 1 of 5 (564 Views)

Polyline to polygon to split polygon?

564 Views, 4 Replies
08-20-2012 12:35 AM

I have a rather complex net of roads and parking lots in the shape of a hatched polyline (basically a whole city). I now want to create a polygon from this net, which I later on want to be able to edit and split into a number of polygons.

 

Anyone with experience from that sort of operations?

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,780
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 5 (561 Views)

Re: Polyline to polygon to split polygon?

08-20-2012 01:55 AM in reply to: goran.klensmeden

My humble advice: _MAPEXPORT the N layers (linear, polygon, and so on) to N shapefiles, then perform that kind of boolean operations in the opensource Qgis, sir.

Member
goran.klensmeden
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-14-2012
Message 3 of 5 (521 Views)

Re: Polyline to polygon to split polygon?

08-22-2012 10:34 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

Thank you!

 

I´ve been leaning towards that solution, but I really wanted to be able to solve it without exporting/importing. We´ll see how that works out! :-)

 

/ Göran

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,574
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 5 (508 Views)

Re: Polyline to polygon to split polygon?

08-23-2012 03:18 AM in reply to: goran.klensmeden

Hi,

 

>> I now want to create a polygon from this net,

I even don't understand the job.

As I understand you have a line-theme describing streets, from that you want to create a polygonal theme? That returns the area between the street-lines (if the area is closed) .... does that make sense? Is that what you plan to do or what am I missing?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
goran.klensmeden
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-14-2012
Message 5 of 5 (504 Views)

Re: Polyline to polygon to split polygon?

08-23-2012 05:09 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

@ALfred: Exactly! MAybe I expressed it alittle bit blurry, though. At the moment Í´m working with a different way of solving it by exporting the dwg to TAB and then use MapInfo. Works fine so far.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.