AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
kym
Member
kym
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-14-2008
Message 1 of 12 (264 Views)

Object Data

264 Views, 11 Replies
12-14-2008 05:29 PM
Hi, I need to export out of Map into MapInfo. My problem is I need the object data to export out into a specific order. At the moment I can only get it to export in alphabetic order which is no good for me. Is there any way I can reorder the object data into the order I want?

Thanks

Kym
Distinguished Contributor
MorganMcGuire
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎07-05-2007
Message 2 of 12 (264 Views)

Re: Object Data

12-14-2008 09:41 PM in reply to: kym
May be quicker within MapInfo. I can't remember the actual menu item as I don't use MapInfo anymore, but it's something called Table Maintenance --> Table Structure. In there you can reorder fields.

Morgan.
kym
Member
kym
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-14-2008
Message 3 of 12 (264 Views)

Re: Object Data

12-14-2008 09:47 PM in reply to: kym
Thanks but we are actually trying to remove a step. At the moment we export to mapinfo and add the attributes only because our client uses mapinfo. We want to be able to do all the work in Map and export it to mapinfo without ever having to use mapinfo itself. The only thing that is holding us back at the moment is the fact that the object data is ordered alphabetically and not the waythe client wants it.
Active Contributor
ClaraAlmeida
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎11-25-2008
Message 4 of 12 (264 Views)

Re: Object Data

12-15-2008 04:57 PM in reply to: kym
As long as I know it, there isn´t a way you can sort the fields in OD, but in the export you can try the following:

- When you are in the export dialog box, and you´re in the Data tab, select the Object Data you want and press Select Fields.
- As you said, map sorts the fields alfabetically.
- If you right click on any field - you have the option to Insert Row.
- Well, the workaround will be Inserting Rows, Deleting Rows, Copying and Pasting the fields, until you achieve the order you wish...

Not very interesting, but can do the work..

Hope it helps.
Cheers
Clara
kym
Member
kym
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-14-2008
Message 5 of 12 (264 Views)

Re: Object Data

12-15-2008 05:10 PM in reply to: kym
Thanks but still a no go as it still insists on it being sorted alphabetically. This is becoming and extremely frustrating problem.
*Murph
Message 6 of 12 (264 Views)

Re: Object Data

12-16-2008 04:18 AM in reply to: kym

Why does it need to be in non-alphabetic
order?

 

Murph


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Thanks
but still a no go as it still insists on it being sorted alphabetically. This
is becoming and extremely frustrating problem.
kym
Member
kym
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-14-2008
Message 7 of 12 (264 Views)

Re: Object Data

12-16-2008 02:04 PM in reply to: kym
The client wants it that way. We give them fortnightly updates to their GIS. They basically cut what we give them and paste it into theirs. If the columns don't match the attributes wont copy. We here are a cad shop and that will never change as we have over 100 cad users and 2 mapinfo users, so the idea is to keep every thing in a dwg and export out what we need. At the moment the GIS is in mapinfo and we keep a separate drawing for the drafters to xref and having the drawing separate to the GIS is causing problems.
Distinguished Contributor
MorganMcGuire
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎07-05-2007
Message 8 of 12 (264 Views)

Re: Object Data

12-16-2008 02:04 PM in reply to: kym
One last thing I can think of to try other than reorder the tabs within MapInfo itself...

When you do your export from Map go to the created *.tab file and reorder the fields within that using notepad. I tried this and then tried to import the result back into Map and it came up with an error but may be ok for MapInfo??

Morgan.
kym
Member
kym
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-14-2008
Message 9 of 12 (264 Views)

Re: Object Data

12-16-2008 02:15 PM in reply to: kym
That could work but I'm trying eliminate using other software and cut down any user input. We have to export twice a month and with around 20 columns there is bound to be some user error if someone has to use their brain.
Distinguished Contributor
MorganMcGuire
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎07-05-2007
Message 10 of 12 (264 Views)

Re: Object Data

12-16-2008 03:01 PM in reply to: kym
Well check if it works with your two MapInfo guys then:

1. Make the *.tab the order you want and put in a safe location.
2. Do your exports as required and then copy over the newly created *.tab with the *.tab file which has the correct order. As *.tab only contains the table structure it shouldn't matter if you copy over this as long as you have the same fields & names.

Morgan.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.