AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
edwa8511
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎11-21-2008
Message 11 of 16 (210 Views)

Re: No extent in drawing

11-18-2011 11:26 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I have installed Notepad++, I am amazed that I didn't need IT for that..Thanks.

 

I opened the dxf and tried to delete those lines, but when I try to open it in CAD, I get:

The following error was encountered while reading

in SEQEND starting at line 828316:

Premature end of object

Invalid or incomplete DXF input -- drawing discarded.

 

I don't know enough about this language to understand what the problem is.  I didn't start editing until line 828325.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,583
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 12 of 16 (208 Views)

Re: No extent in drawing

11-18-2011 11:40 AM in reply to: edwa8511

Hi,

 

it's hard to say what you did or what is wrong with this part of the DXF-file.

At least you have a line-number and I would first look to this line ... plus a few lines above and below. Of course I understand that replacing parts of the file needs knowledge about how DXF is structured. Deleting one line on the wrong place can cause big troubles and in most cases the DXF is then not readable anymore.

Can you upload this DXF (zipped)?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
edwa8511
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎11-21-2008
Message 13 of 16 (189 Views)

Re: No extent in drawing

11-21-2011 02:15 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I don't know if I got this small enough to attach, but I will give it one more try.

 

I really appreciate your help..Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,583
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 14 of 16 (186 Views)

Re: No extent in drawing

11-21-2011 02:28 PM in reply to: edwa8511

Hi,

 

find attached a version, that does ZoomExtents like it should. Please verify first all your dataconnections before deleting your previous file!

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
edwa8511
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎11-21-2008
Message 15 of 16 (180 Views)

Re: No extent in drawing

11-21-2011 04:36 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

You Are The Man...

 

That's Great.

 

Did you have to do anything different than what you had explained to me earlier?  I have at least one other drawing with the same problem and will try to fix them later.

 

Thanks for all the help.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,583
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 16 of 16 (177 Views)

Re: No extent in drawing

11-21-2011 10:59 PM in reply to: edwa8511

Hi,

 

>> Did you have to do anything different than what you had explained to me earlier?

No:smileywink:

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.