AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
smvest
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎02-05-2009
Message 1 of 8 (377 Views)

- Mr SID File ...

377 Views, 7 Replies
01-04-2012 08:34 AM

I know there have been a couple posts already on this subject but being the coordinate illiterate that I am ... I have tried the instructions given and the SID file still comes into the drawing in the incorrect location.  The coordinate of the SID is NAD 1983 UTM Zone 13M and my drawing is HARN Colorado State Planes, North Zone, US Foot.  I am using AuotCAD Map 2011.  This is starting to be a bit frustrating  :smileyfrustrated:

Thanks,

~Sue

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,668
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 8 (352 Views)

Re: - Mr SID File ...

01-04-2012 10:48 PM in reply to: smvest

1] open a new empty drawing

2] _ADESETCRDSYS , search and set "NAD 1983 UTM Zone 13M"

3] _MAPIINSERT your .SID image

4] save as NAD83_UTM13M.DWG and close

5] open your 'HARN Colorado' drawing

6] ensure that your _ADESETCRDSYS is set to "HARN Colorado State Planes, North Zone, US Foot" 

7] _ADEDRAWINGS and attach the NAD83_UTM13M.DWG 

8] _ADEQUERY -> Location -> All -> OK -> set Query Mode to "DRAW" -> click on "Execute query"

Active Contributor
smvest
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎02-05-2009
Message 3 of 8 (327 Views)

Re: - Mr SID File ...

01-06-2012 06:45 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

I would like to say this worked ... but it did not.  The SID file is still very far north of where it should be in the drawing.  Any other suggestions?

Thank you,

Sue

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,668
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 8 (321 Views)

Re: - Mr SID File ...

01-06-2012 08:08 AM in reply to: smvest

Are you 100% sure that your .SID is "NAD 1983 UTM Zone 13M"..?

Please check it out in the metadata file (I guess .XML extension) with the same name of the .SID one...

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 5 of 8 (302 Views)

Re: - Mr SID File ...

01-10-2012 08:23 AM in reply to: smvest

Sue,

 

An intermediate step from the previous posting is that you should "mapinsert" the UTM SID file into a drawing set up with meters units.

 

then attach and drawing query into the destination drawing set up in feet units.  is the position off by a scale factor of 3.28 - should be an immediate indication.

 

been a while since Comm-Tech, but now living in FC and working up in Cheyenne - back in the production world myself...

 

best of luck!

 

Todd Hepworth


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Active Contributor
smvest
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎02-05-2009
Message 6 of 8 (244 Views)

Re: - Mr SID File ...

02-06-2012 06:44 AM in reply to: thepworth

Is anyone willing to take a crack at this, just not working for me.  :-(

Thanks,

~Sue

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 7 of 8 (240 Views)

Re: - Mr SID File ...

02-06-2012 07:17 AM in reply to: smvest

Sue,  Check with Ken, or open a service request directly and Nate/Roy/Zac should be able to help you with it... sorry :smileysad:

 

Todd


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Active Contributor
smvest
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎02-05-2009
Message 8 of 8 (234 Views)

Re: - Mr SID File ...

02-06-2012 08:15 AM in reply to: thepworth

Tried it one more time ... Got it!!  Thanks everyone!!!

~Sue

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.