AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
frosty1_4me
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 1 of 7 (335 Views)

MPOLYGON fills on close

335 Views, 6 Replies
02-21-2014 08:51 AM

Hi,

 

There are some issues with MPOLYGONs and the fill that is applied when they are closed.  I can turn off that behavior by setting FILLMODE to '0' when creating those objects but that does not help me to address legacy MPOLYGONs that already have the fill applied.  And if a user forgets to turn the FILLMODE back on, when creating PLINES with width those too will lose their fill. 

 

This was not an issue in MAP3D 2011, but I'm not sure when this behavior was changed.  It's certainly not ideal.   Being able to set the hatch pattern to NULL for the MPOLYGON type objects would be much better.

 

Is there a fix for this?

 

Thanks

Valued Contributor
frosty1_4me
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 7 (324 Views)

Re: MPOLYGON fills on close

02-21-2014 10:41 AM in reply to: frosty1_4me

I have tried the polydisplay command but it does nothing even after regen.

Distinguished Contributor
Gary_Braun
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎09-25-2007
Message 3 of 7 (317 Views)

Re: MPOLYGON fills on close

02-21-2014 12:24 PM in reply to: frosty1_4me
FILLMODE should work. Have you tried a regen after toggling it on or off?
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,092
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 7 (309 Views)

Re: MPOLYGON fills on close

02-21-2014 03:44 PM in reply to: frosty1_4me

frosty1_4me wrote:

I have tried the polydisplay command but it does nothing even after regen.


Set the MPFILL to TRANS from the Other Predefined tab. The TRANS stands for Transparency. You can use Quick Select and select the current ones and then change the fill patterned from the properties palette. The PolyDisplay only works on newly created mpolgons. 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Valued Contributor
frosty1_4me
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 7 (298 Views)

Re: MPOLYGON fills on close

02-23-2014 09:29 AM in reply to: frosty1_4me
Thanks Murphy, I'll give that a try. The fill mode affects all objects with fill, not what I'm after.

I'll let you know how it works out.
Valued Contributor
frosty1_4me
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 7 (278 Views)

Re: MPOLYGON fills on close

02-24-2014 08:17 AM in reply to: Murph

I tried the MPFILL but the TRANS that is listed shows a pattern and isn't transparent.   The polydisplay even when creating new MPOLYGONS does nothing and the MPOLYGON that is created after setting the polydisplay to Edge only still fills in solid.

 

Any other thoughts around this?

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 2,404
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 7 of 7 (273 Views)

Re: MPOLYGON fills on close

02-24-2014 10:26 AM in reply to: frosty1_4me

Hello

 

My suggestion : to have almost transparent MPOLYGON, I am using (since 12 years) the DOT pattern with a huge Scale = 99999  so I get (on the screen and on the paper after printing) only a small Dot somewhere in the MPolygon, but I don't care ...

 

History : MPOLYGON began with an optional module to install on MAP R5 based on ACAD 2002 ...

MPOLYGON have been included in the Kernel of MAP with MAP R6 always based on ACAD 2002 !

 

As far as I know, a few IMPORTANT things are missing to the "famous" MPOLYGONs of MAP :

- a REAL transparent pattern

- a LineWeight for the hatch pattern DIFFERENT from the general LineWeight

- a LineType for the hatch pattern DIFFERENT from the general LineType

 

Bye, Pat

 

Bye, Pat ( Supporting Troops )
If you are happy with my answer please mark "Accept as Solution" and if very happy please give me a Kudos (Compliment) - Thanks
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.