AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
jregier
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎05-22-2009
Message 1 of 15 (163 Views)

Mapimport4 2012 Civil3D

163 Views, 14 Replies
07-03-2012 08:13 AM

Recently upgraded from 2010 to 2012 and mapimport4 command is missing shp file format import option.  We have lisp routines that format shp files to CAD underlay drawings.  Please advise patch or other command line options.

Thank-you

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,746
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 15 (146 Views)

Re: Mapimport4 2012 Civil3D

07-03-2012 11:47 PM in reply to: jregier

What for Mapimport4, when you have the richer _MAPIMPORT, sir?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,401
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 3 of 15 (144 Views)

Re: Mapimport4 2012 Civil3D

07-03-2012 11:51 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

Hi,

 

>> What for Mapimport4, when you have the richer _MAPIMPORT, sir?

Because it's the only type of import, that creates the lables for each polygon as points (real inside of the polygon) and the object-data is placed on these points and not on the outline.

And if you want to create a MAP-topology starting with polygonal-shape data MAPIMPORT4 is the only way to do that errorfree.

 

- alfred -

 

BTW: I wrote that to Autodesk in the time of beta-testing, but was just ignored.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,746
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 15 (141 Views)

Re: Mapimport4 2012 Civil3D

07-04-2012 01:34 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

alfred.neswadba wrote:

it's the only type of import, that creates the lables for each polygon as points (real inside of the polygon) and the object-data is placed on these points and not on the outline


Danke, but the same identical effect you get with _MAPIMPORT before and _MAPCREATECENTROIDS after...

Even better, 'cause the OD stay both on the outline and on the inner point.

I humbly guess these 2 commands are really redundant, my dear...

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,401
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 5 of 15 (138 Views)

Re: Mapimport4 2012 Civil3D

07-04-2012 02:04 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Hi,

 

>> but the same identical effect you get with _MAPIMPORT before and _MAPCREATECENTROIDS after...

Sorry to say, but absolutely wrong as the MAPCREATECENTROIDS has not learned the existance of islands.

 

Try to run the command in such a situation:

 

 

You get both centroids in the same inner polygon. when you now (try to) create a topology you get:

  • no centroid in the outer polygon
  • double centroids in the inner polygon

And that is the situation where you now have to manually correct the centroids ... for may be thousands or millions of polygons ... good luck. :smileysad:

 

It seems that Autodesk does always forget that GIS-data can hold islands

An example is this: >>>another bug<<< Map3D has (had) with FDO-objects and FDO-command for union of two polygons, but here it is solved with 2013 (great). Anyway frustrating is that it needed 3 versions and I don't know how many servicepacks in the meantime to get repaired. At least there were 3 years of wrong datacreation (data-damage).

For MAPCREATECENTROIDS this bug exists as long as the command exists. As long as the MAPIMPORT4 existed for SHP there was a workaround to come from a polygonal shape to a topology ==> and now (2012 and 2013) .... this workaround is cut. :smileysad:

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,746
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 6 of 15 (135 Views)

Re: Mapimport4 2012 Civil3D

07-04-2012 03:01 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

alfred.neswadba wrote:

It seems that Autodesk does always forget that GIS-data can hold islands


I don't concur with you, sorry: in my glorious Map2006 everything works as expected, so I cannot believe that newer releases fail.

Here's my workflow since years:

1] when you create a topology, Map is clever enough to "feel" the presence of islands

2] at the moment of _MAPEXPORT as a shapefile, you must set the interface like this, and at the moment of _MAPIMPORT of the shapefile, you must set the interface like this

3] finally you issue _MAPCREATECENTROIDS, getting only one centroid in the right asymmetrical position: check this out.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,401
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 7 of 15 (133 Views)

Re: Mapimport4 2012 Civil3D

07-04-2012 03:35 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Hi,

 

At short:

 

  • agree to 1
  • agree to 2 (well, agree partially, normally I don't use grouping when exporting a Topology as it just creates multiple objects, anyway, it does not matter for this problem as I have to import any shape I get and not just the ones I create)
  • don't agree to 3 ... as your island is not around the mathematical centroid of the outer polygon you don't see the problem. Place your star-polygon really into the center of the outer rectangle (or create a rectangle, make a offset to the inside) and then start _MAPCREATECENTROID ==> 2 points in the inner poly

 

In a few minutes you will get a SHP and a video that makes it clear how it (not) works for me.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,401
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 8 of 15 (132 Views)

Re: Mapimport4 2012 Civil3D

07-04-2012 03:49 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Hi,

 

Take then my shape attached, import it with MAPIMPORT and then start _MAPCREATECENTROIDS. Look also to my video, that shows how the import runs with MAPIMPORT4 and the one with MAPIMPORT and MAPCREATECENTROIDS.

 

- alfred -

 

Great to have a discussion with you :smileywink: :smileyhappy:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,746
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 9 of 15 (130 Views)

Re: Mapimport4 2012 Civil3D

07-04-2012 04:42 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

alfred.neswadba wrote:

Great to have a discussion with you


Me too, mein Herr...

I was able to replicate your bug, getting 2 centroids, and here's my humble debug: you should _MAPEXPORT exactly like this.

Doing so (with the settings # 1,2,3 as above) you can _MAPCREATECENTROIDS only one centroid.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,401
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 10 of 15 (126 Views)

Re: Mapimport4 2012 Civil3D

07-04-2012 05:09 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Hi,

 

>> you should _MAPEXPORT exactly like this.

Oh man, no, not MAPEXPORT ... when using MAPIMPORT I should not check the option (for creating closed polylines)

I always checked the option as I disliked MPOLYGON as object not really usefull ....

BUT:.....then I get MPOLYGONS instead of polylines

AND:.... what is new to me is that the command _MAPCREATECENTROIDS can work with these MPOLYGON-objects and yes, in case of MPOLYGONs the creation of the centroids runs fine!

 

After that the MPOLYGONSs can be exploded, can be MAPCLEANed and after all the creation of a new topology is ok without manual work.

 

Well, I have to stop my "hating MPOLYGON"-opinion (starting tomorrow or so ... :smileywink: )

 

Again, great discussion, thank you a lot for that :smileyhappy: and at least yes, now I also don't see any more necessarity of MAPIMPORT4 for SHP.

 

THX! - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!