AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
nkg2
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎11-20-2008
Message 1 of 10 (402 Views)
Accepted Solution

Map3d 2015 - Stalling

402 Views, 9 Replies
04-27-2014 09:12 PM

I recently installed IDS-Premium 2015 and fired up Map3d.  Using my project file that worked fine in 2014 has suddenly stop working all of a sudden.  I can get into the project but once I click to active a particular area my cursor goes away and I am unable to select anything, close out of the program, etc.  I don't even get the wheel of thinking.  Eventually I have to go to the taskbar and start taskmanager and have to kill the program.  I have ran audit (0 problems) and purge but it has still not worked.  I thought maybe my aerials were the problem but turned them off and still had a problem.  I have not tried on another computer yet but would like to know if others are having the same issue.  Thanks in advance. 

Autodesk 2015 Infrastructure Design Suite - Premium
Windows 7 Professional, x64, Intel Xeon W3350 3.07GHz, 12GB Ram, NVidia Quadro 4000
I performed this task on another machine with the same file and had no problems with it stalling. I am considering this closed for now unless for whatever reason I report additional findings. Startup of the program is faster with the reinstall but still stalls, but not as bad as before but still slower than what I would expect. Thank you all for your help. Thanks!
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,574
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 10 (378 Views)

Re: Map3d 2015 - Stalling

04-28-2014 12:11 AM in reply to: nkg2

Hi,

 

have you restarted your workstation?

Did you migrate any settings from previous releases?

Does the same issue exist if you login to your system with another user account?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
nkg2
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎11-20-2008
Message 3 of 10 (355 Views)

Re: Map3d 2015 - Stalling

04-28-2014 08:01 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Alfred.NESWADBA wrote:

Hi,

 

>>have you restarted your workstation?<<

 

Hi Alfred!, same issue.  If I remember right the new update manager had an update for it already and I installed it and restarted, no changes

 

>>Did you migrate any settings from previous releases?<<

 

No, I don't do any customizations, just bring one project up that I like and then use the characteristics for another.  In fact before I installed 2015, I used Autodesk's uninstall tool to remove 2014.

 

>>Does the same issue exist if you login to your system with another user account?<<

 

Did not think of dropping into administrator as I am the only user on that computer.  It is worth a shot. 

 

- alfred -


Alfred -

Thanks for the help on troubleshooting.  I will post back when I find out what I have found. 

Autodesk 2015 Infrastructure Design Suite - Premium
Windows 7 Professional, x64, Intel Xeon W3350 3.07GHz, 12GB Ram, NVidia Quadro 4000
Distinguished Contributor
nkg2
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎11-20-2008
Message 4 of 10 (343 Views)

Re: Map3d 2015 - Stalling

04-28-2014 08:10 PM in reply to: nkg2

 

>>Does the same issue exist if you login to your system with another user account?<<

 

**Did not think of dropping into administrator as I am the only user on that computer.  It is worth a shot.**

 

I did try the file on another computer of somewhat lower specs and filled with tons of goodies but it did not cause any issues and actually pulled up faster on the older computer.  I thought maybe it was a video driver situation as after I installed IDS and opened Map3d it said that I needed to get the driver optimized for the program (which was a driver version prior to the latest).  Regardless, it did not change anything.  I have restarted several times.  I even dropped out the xref'ed rasters but I only performance change was that I did not stall but trying to pan and zoom in an out was very painful to watch.  This is even with no other programs running like Outlook or soemthing similar.  I still have 8GB of ram it still acted this way.  I am sure it is a computer problem but just not sure where. 

 

 

- alfred -


Alfred -

Thanks for the help on troubleshooting.  I will post back when I find out what I have found. 


 

Autodesk 2015 Infrastructure Design Suite - Premium
Windows 7 Professional, x64, Intel Xeon W3350 3.07GHz, 12GB Ram, NVidia Quadro 4000
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,780
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 5 of 10 (337 Views)

Re: Map3d 2015 - Stalling

04-28-2014 11:43 PM in reply to: nkg2

I'd bet it's not an hardware issue, sir.

Try rebooting in SAFE MODE WITHOUT NETWORK SUPPORT (press F8 upon bootstrapping), log in as admin, and check what happens in Autocad.

Distinguished Contributor
nkg2
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎11-20-2008
Message 6 of 10 (325 Views)

Re: Map3d 2015 - Stalling

04-29-2014 09:07 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

antoniovinci wrote:

I'd bet it's not an hardware issue, sir.

Try rebooting in SAFE MODE WITHOUT NETWORK SUPPORT (press F8 upon bootstrapping), log in as admin, and check what happens in Autocad.


No I don't think its hardware either.  It is either two things, bad install (which I had to download using the virtual agent and not throught subscription because 2015 wasn't rolled out to my account yet at the time) or malware but I have ran cc cleaner, malwarebytes, superantispyware, and AVG and found nothing (cc cleaner found 225 registry errors but that didn't fix it either).  My IT guys hopefully will check out TDSKiller or Combofix and see if there are any issues.  Very frustrating.  I will post when it gets done.  Thanks! 

Autodesk 2015 Infrastructure Design Suite - Premium
Windows 7 Professional, x64, Intel Xeon W3350 3.07GHz, 12GB Ram, NVidia Quadro 4000
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,574
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 7 of 10 (315 Views)

Re: Map3d 2015 - Stalling

04-29-2014 02:08 PM in reply to: nkg2

Hi,

 

>> have ran cc cleaner, malwarebytes, superantispyware, and AVG and found nothing (cc cleaner found 225 registry errors but that didn't fix it either)

That might be the problem, if you let software "free" all it finds, then it's more cleaned than needed. At least there are keys (and maybe files) cleaned that AutoCAD (and Map3D) needs to exist.

My guess with the above information: You need a repair install or a (clean) uninstall and new installation.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
nkg2
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎11-20-2008
Message 8 of 10 (303 Views)

Re: Map3d 2015 - Stalling

04-30-2014 06:12 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Alfred.NESWADBA wrote:

>>My guess with the above information: You need a repair install or a (clean) uninstall and new installation.<<

 

Yes you are probably right. I did a complete uninstall, CC Cleaner, redownload and now in the process of reloading.  They did find some interesting issues in the virus vault which is somehow a Trojan was caught but it was attached to a legitimate installer package from a reputible software company (similar to Autodesk).  It was very odd.  They ran Stinger and TDSKiller and found nothing though but after all their work it was all for not.  If this install does not work then I am going to strip out to bare metal and start all over again from OS on up.  Not looking forward to that.  

 

- alfred -


 

Autodesk 2015 Infrastructure Design Suite - Premium
Windows 7 Professional, x64, Intel Xeon W3350 3.07GHz, 12GB Ram, NVidia Quadro 4000
Distinguished Contributor
nkg2
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎11-20-2008
Message 9 of 10 (282 Views)

Re: Map3d 2015 - Stalling

05-04-2014 08:52 PM in reply to: nkg2

Sorry I have been out of pocket last few days.

 

So I uninstalled and reinstalled my suite and reinstalled.  Same effects so I started playing around.  I don't know why or how I thought of it but one of the shape files that I am using I had associated a hatching pattern instead of a solid color.  After application of a solid color and adjusted the transparency, I noted that it seemed to move much faster.  (It was a shape file of political commission districts that cover 709 square miles in two distinct shapes).  I am going to try it out on another machine and see what happens.

Autodesk 2015 Infrastructure Design Suite - Premium
Windows 7 Professional, x64, Intel Xeon W3350 3.07GHz, 12GB Ram, NVidia Quadro 4000
Distinguished Contributor
nkg2
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎11-20-2008
Message 10 of 10 (257 Views)

Re: Map3d 2015 - Stalling

05-06-2014 07:08 PM in reply to: nkg2
I performed this task on another machine with the same file and had no problems with it stalling. I am considering this closed for now unless for whatever reason I report additional findings. Startup of the program is faster with the reinstall but still stalls, but not as bad as before but still slower than what I would expect. Thank you all for your help. Thanks!
Autodesk 2015 Infrastructure Design Suite - Premium
Windows 7 Professional, x64, Intel Xeon W3350 3.07GHz, 12GB Ram, NVidia Quadro 4000
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.