AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
lmieth
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-15-2004
Message 1 of 18 (809 Views)

map legend

809 Views, 17 Replies
08-12-2013 03:48 PM

I have been trying to work the tutorials and when trying to create a map legend I do not get the same options. I am in the Planning and Analysis workspace as is the tutorial. I am instructed to select Tools  on the Display Manager tab and select create legend, which I see work in the tutorial. However, when I select Tools creat legend is not available. I don't even see it grayed. Other options shown in the tutorial also are not there for me when I select tools. Welcoming any help. I am new to map 3d.

Thanks

Linda Mieth

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,070
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 18 (794 Views)

Re: map legend

08-12-2013 11:52 PM in reply to: lmieth

Hi,

 

what AutoCAD Map3D version do you have? ... as the option how legends work changed with release 2013 and so might differ to what you see in the tutorials.

 

Beginning with 2013 you should (have to) place the legends in the paperspace, so just change to a layout (in paperspace) and see how the ribbon changes to give you the option for creating a legend. Click onto that button, then select the viewport for which the legend should belong to and that's it.

 

Up to 2012 there was only one legend valid (without tricks) and that has to be in modelspace. The button to create the legend there is found in the Map-Workspace (see screenshot, sorry that this is a German one, but the position is equal to that in English Map3D)

 

2013-08-13 08-50-49.png

 

HTH, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
lmieth
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-15-2004
Message 3 of 18 (780 Views)

Re: map legend

08-13-2013 06:20 AM in reply to: lmieth

I am using 2014. On the paperspace layout tab with the viewport highligted and I select Tools on the Display Manager in the Task Pane. The list contains as follows:

Query to filter data (gray)

Search to select feature (selectable)

Export Layer Data to SDF (gray)

Export Layer Data to SQlite (gray)

View Metadata (selectable)

Show threshold (selectable)

Show library (selectable)

 

It does not list Pulbish to Infrastructure Map Server, Creat Legend, create contour layer,Save Current Map to AutoCAD, or View Map Properites; all of which are listed in the tutorial. I seem to be missing something.

Thanks

Linda

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,070
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 18 (777 Views)

Re: map legend

08-13-2013 06:28 AM in reply to: lmieth

Hi Linda,

 

I guess we speak about different ribbons. If you change from modelspace to layout there should be the context-ribbon "Layout-Tools" active (hopefully translated correct) and that looks in my German version like that:

 

2013-08-13 15-24-46.png

(the arrow shows to the legend-button)

 

You don't have to switch to any ribbon as AutoCAD Map does it by itself (always when a layout is active and you are in paperspece).

 

>> I select Tools on the Display Manager in the Task Pane

That was the way how it worked until 2012, but not with 2013 or 2014.

(sorry that my translation of that menu-items is quite limited as I don't have an English version of Map3D installed, so my translation is something like guessing how Autodesk would have called that in English).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
lmieth
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-15-2004
Message 5 of 18 (770 Views)

Re: map legend

08-13-2013 08:10 AM in reply to: lmieth

I tried to attach a picture. The tools list in the task pane on the left is mine, the tools list in the task pane on the right is from the tutorial. I am sorry if I do not explain this well, but if you can see it I do not have as many options listed. I do see Legend referenced on my layout tools ribbon. So I guess the tutorial is using a different version and that is why the options are different? I am not missing anything?

Thanks

Linda

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,070
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 18 (767 Views)

Re: map legend

08-13-2013 08:14 AM in reply to: lmieth

Hi,

 

>> the tools list in the task pane on the right is from the tutorial

As mentioned above ... that is Map3D 2012 (or older)

 

>> if you can see it I do not have as many options listed

Yes, you have a newer Map3D version and most of what you are missing is to be found (with more functionality) in the ribbons.

 

>> So I guess the tutorial is using a different version and that is why the options are different?

>> I am not missing anything?

Absolutely correct :smileywink:

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
lmieth
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-15-2004
Message 7 of 18 (762 Views)

Re: map legend

08-13-2013 08:41 AM in reply to: lmieth

Thanks for your guidance,all is new and when instruction doesn't work right it can leave you a little unsure.

Linda

Active Member
stephane.aubertin
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-26-2010
Message 8 of 18 (625 Views)

Re: map legend

12-10-2013 07:40 AM in reply to: lmieth

I try to do the tuturial for Map 2014. I don't see the Create legend to. To have the contextual menu i must be in paper space. Is it impossiblen to create a legenf in the model space ? If it is the tutorial is incorrect.

Stephane A. Aubertin
Responsable - traitement de l'information (gestion des espaces)
Service de la planification et des projets immobiliers
HEC Montréal
www.hec.ca
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,070
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 9 of 18 (592 Views)

Re: map legend

12-13-2013 06:26 PM in reply to: stephane.aubertin

Hi,

 

>> Is it impossiblen to create a legenf in the model space ? If it is the tutorial is incorrect.

You can't create a legend in the modelspace any more and that makes sense, otherwise you can't create different maps side by side in one layout with each having it's legend.

And to be honest, a legend has it's place in the paperspace and not in the modelspace ... like titleblocks, comments, ...

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
Openwheeler
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-20-2013
Message 10 of 18 (356 Views)

Re: map legend

05-14-2014 03:10 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Alfred,

 

I used one for the first time today, took some effort of try and fail. Nonetheless, when I got all the styles tweaked, saved my legend style, I had one to revert back to for future maps...could use some more tools for tweaking the looks of them. I had to use a background color, should be option of NONE. It would be nice to have rounded corners for BORDERS to match our company sheet borders...just to name a few things.

 

Thanks for your input, very useful!

 

I wouldn’t have used it without finding your post reply so great job.

 

Tom

 

 

Openwheeler

"If you don’t build your dream someone will hire you to help build theirs."
-Tony Gaskins
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.