AutoCAD Map 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Map 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Map 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

map image insert NAIP raster photo not reprojecting and 4 bands

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
GIS_user
1645 Views, 8 Replies

map image insert NAIP raster photo not reprojecting and 4 bands

Hello all,

I have limited experience with AutoCAD, I am an ESRI GIS user. So here goes:

We are trying to use map image insert to insert a NAIP photo. The NAIP photo is in UTM meters. The existing AutoCAD Civil dwg is in state plane illinois wf. Everything I have read says all you have to do is go to map image insert, pick the tiff, my correlation source is a world file (.tfw), and BAM, your raster image should show up where it is supposed to. Well, it doesn't work. Does anyone have any ideas? It appears that AutoCAD is not reprojecting the image to state plane feet. How can I get it to do this?

If we connect to the image, it reprojects it just fine. However, on every pan and zoom it is redrawing. We can't wait for the program to redraw all the time, it's too slow. So if we can figure out how to import it, it's a much faster option.

Another problem: the NAIP has 4 bands and the 4th band is an Alpha Band 1. This makes the image appear faded and white. In ArcMap you can simply uncheck the 4th band so the image looks normal again. Is there a way to do that in AutoCAD Map?

Thank you,

Andrea

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
antoniovinci
in reply to: GIS_user

GIS_user wrote:

It appears that AutoCAD is not reprojecting the image to state plane feet. How can I get it to do this?

The _MAPIINSERT command does not reproject anything on-the-fly.
You should import your UTM imagery in an empty drawing, assign a CRS with _ADESETCRDSYS, and save.