AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
19 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎08-02-2010
Post 1 of 7

Map Features Unselectable

390 Views, 6 Replies
09-04-2012 01:10 PM

When I use quick select, I can see that there are map features listed in my drawings.  When I try to select these features it either says they have been selected but they aren't actually selected, or the autocad will crash forcing me to start over.  How can I removed these features (which do not actually appear in the drawing) from the drawing.  So many of my files seem to have this problem.  

 

-N

Contributor
19 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎08-02-2010
Post 2 of 7

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-04-2012 01:11 PM in reply to: nsummitt

btw, I am using Map 2010 32bit.  I can't deny there are days where I want to go back to '08 standard.  I have been very disappointed in Map.  It seems to offer a lot but really doesn't seem to handle all that it says it can.

Mentor
229 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Post 3 of 7

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-05-2012 09:53 AM in reply to: nsummitt

What kind of file are you connected too?

 

Are your shapes Polygons, points, or lines?

Member
4 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎12-16-2009
Post 4 of 7

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-06-2012 05:24 AM in reply to: nsummitt

Hi,

 

Check the task pane if there are any layers (feature classes) present in it (If it's turned off type mapwspace in the command line then press enter twice).

If there are no feature classes there, check the connect to data dialog (Task Pane > Data > Connect to data). If there are map features connected to your drawing, you should see them there. Disconnect, then delete the connections, save the drawing and you should be alright from there.

 

If this happens every time you start a drawing -create a new drawing with the new command-, then it should be the dwt, that you choose when creating a new drawing. Open the dwt and do the same to it.

 

Hope this helps, G

Contributor
19 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎08-02-2010
Post 5 of 7

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-12-2012 04:05 AM in reply to: tjmapper
I am not connected to any features... that is what is odd. nat
Contributor
19 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎08-02-2010
Post 6 of 7

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-12-2012 04:05 AM in reply to: Groszg
I have done all those steps. Another point I should make is that the number of map features is usually equal to the number of items not selected that quick select warns me about before opening. nat
*Expert Elite*
2,141 Posts
207 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 7 of 7

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-12-2012 02:57 PM in reply to: nsummitt

Hasve you tried the _purge command and purge regapps?

 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!