AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
nsummitt
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-02-2010
Message 1 of 7 (385 Views)

Map Features Unselectable

385 Views, 6 Replies
09-04-2012 01:10 PM

When I use quick select, I can see that there are map features listed in my drawings.  When I try to select these features it either says they have been selected but they aren't actually selected, or the autocad will crash forcing me to start over.  How can I removed these features (which do not actually appear in the drawing) from the drawing.  So many of my files seem to have this problem.  

 

-N

Contributor
nsummitt
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-02-2010
Message 2 of 7 (384 Views)

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-04-2012 01:11 PM in reply to: nsummitt

btw, I am using Map 2010 32bit.  I can't deny there are days where I want to go back to '08 standard.  I have been very disappointed in Map.  It seems to offer a lot but really doesn't seem to handle all that it says it can.

Mentor
tjmapper
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 3 of 7 (359 Views)

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-05-2012 09:53 AM in reply to: nsummitt

What kind of file are you connected too?

 

Are your shapes Polygons, points, or lines?

Member
Groszg
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-16-2009
Message 4 of 7 (338 Views)

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-06-2012 05:24 AM in reply to: nsummitt

Hi,

 

Check the task pane if there are any layers (feature classes) present in it (If it's turned off type mapwspace in the command line then press enter twice).

If there are no feature classes there, check the connect to data dialog (Task Pane > Data > Connect to data). If there are map features connected to your drawing, you should see them there. Disconnect, then delete the connections, save the drawing and you should be alright from there.

 

If this happens every time you start a drawing -create a new drawing with the new command-, then it should be the dwt, that you choose when creating a new drawing. Open the dwt and do the same to it.

 

Hope this helps, G

Contributor
nsummitt
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-02-2010
Message 5 of 7 (308 Views)

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-12-2012 04:05 AM in reply to: tjmapper
I am not connected to any features... that is what is odd. nat
Contributor
nsummitt
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-02-2010
Message 6 of 7 (308 Views)

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-12-2012 04:05 AM in reply to: Groszg
I have done all those steps. Another point I should make is that the number of map features is usually equal to the number of items not selected that quick select warns me about before opening. nat
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,086
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 7 (293 Views)

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-12-2012 02:57 PM in reply to: nsummitt

Hasve you tried the _purge command and purge regapps?

 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.