AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
sduffin
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-08-2009
Message 1 of 5 (2,210 Views)

Map 3D to Google Earth

2210 Views, 4 Replies
10-15-2010 11:54 AM

Is there a way to export a layer from Map 3D to google earth?  It appears the built in google earth extension only exports linework that is part of the DWG and not GIS  layers.

 

For example, I have arcview shapefiles of drainage areas for a storm drain report that have been connected to throught the data connect palette, and stylized through the task pane.  I would think there should be an easy way to export this drainage layer directly to a KML file that can then be opened up in Google Earth.  Does anyone know how to go about it other than converting a map to a dwg and then exporting it to GE?


Thanks for your help.

 

Scott

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,092
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 5 (2,208 Views)

Re: Map 3D to Google Earth

10-15-2010 01:51 PM in reply to: sduffin

SL-King has a free FDO Provider that will allow you to convert /bulk copy to a KML file.

http://www.sl-king.com/FdoKML/FdoKML.html

Last time I used it it worked pretty good.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Member
scott
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-15-2008
Message 3 of 5 (1,847 Views)

Re: Map 3D to Google Earth

01-26-2011 10:39 AM in reply to: Murph

I downloaded the files and believe I installed it correctly.  I am able to import *.kml files via FDO into Map 3d so I think I did that part right.

 

I am a little unsure on the steps to add a KML Connection.  What do you type in the File: Box?  Do you hit the Login button then?  Just a little confused here.

 

Also, when you get to the bulk copy screen do you just select geometry in the schema?   I am getting errors when I click the Copy Now button.  Sometimes it says 'connection is closed or busy'.  Sometimes it says 'The indentifier 'KML_FDO_NAME' was not recognized.

 

Thanks.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,092
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 5 (1,836 Views)

Re: Map 3D to Google Earth

01-26-2011 10:57 AM in reply to: scott

In the file box you put in the full path to the kml file. Log in is not needed.

 

If you installed the FDO2FDO tool from SL-King that's a stand-a-lone application that does not run inside of MAP3D that has the copy shp to kml options.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Member
scott
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-15-2008
Message 5 of 5 (1,807 Views)

Re: Map 3D to Google Earth

01-27-2011 05:31 AM in reply to: Murph

Spent way to much time trying to figure out how to make this work.  No luck yet.  

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.