AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
torentrue
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎09-29-2006
Message 1 of 8 (527 Views)

Link Template does not appear

527 Views, 7 Replies
09-25-2012 09:06 AM

I have a client with AutoCAD Map 3D 2011 with an OLE DB Provider for SQL Server Data Source and a dbConnect link template connecting to the database.

 

Normally, when an object that is linked to the database via the link template is selected, the data from the linked table appears in the properties palette. Recently a change what made to the table (view) that the link template and the Link template no longer appears. The view was restored to its original state, but the link table still is not visible.

 

If the data source is disconnected via the task pane, the link template reappears (with only the key showing, of course). The data can still be seen via the link template "View Linked Table" context-sensitive menu in the task pane so the link still remains.

 

I have disconnected, deleted, and rebuilt the data source, but it has not helped and I cannot delete the link template as there are several thousand objects linked via the template.

 

Any help is appreciated.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,705
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 8 (517 Views)

Re: Link Template does not appear

09-25-2012 11:16 AM in reply to: torentrue

torentrue wrote:
I cannot delete the link template as there are several thousand objects linked via the template.

In your shoes, I wouldn't try to repair anything, sir.
Rebuilding the links of some thousand objects is a matter of minutes, so my advice is: start over with a clean _ADEGENLINK

Active Contributor
torentrue
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎09-29-2006
Message 3 of 8 (502 Views)

Re: Link Template does not appear

09-26-2012 11:49 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Antonio,

 

Thanks for the quick reply. Can you point me to some documentation that can help me rebuild this Link Template?

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,705
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 8 (494 Views)

Re: Link Template does not appear

09-26-2012 11:12 PM in reply to: torentrue

torentrue wrote:

Can you point me to some documentation that can help me rebuild this Link Template?


http://docs.autodesk.com/MAP/2012/ENU/filesMWG/GUID-C6EA7620-0D64-441D-8897-DF848B6A7598.htm

Active Contributor
torentrue
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎09-29-2006
Message 5 of 8 (481 Views)

Re: Link Template does not appear

09-27-2012 09:26 AM in reply to: antoniovinci
Thanks again. Before I try this, I want to make sure we are talking about the same thing. I have several drawings (10-15) with identical link templates. The drawings display the same behavior (If the data Source is connected, the LT_XXX information does not appear. If the Data source is NOT connected, the LT_XXXX apears with only the Key [as would be expected]) Nothing has been changed in the other drawings and they have only been opened to verify the occurance of the trouble. Thanks,
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,705
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 6 of 8 (477 Views)

Re: Link Template does not appear

09-27-2012 11:46 AM in reply to: torentrue

As already said, I would forget the old link template, starting over with a brand new one: make a _WBLOCK of the only geometry, ensure that every closed object has an unique ID drawn inside, and connect them to the database. 

Active Contributor
torentrue
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎09-29-2006
Message 7 of 8 (455 Views)

Re: Link Template does not appear

09-28-2012 03:09 PM in reply to: torentrue

As much as it pains me to report this, the whole problem was that the key in the database table (view) had been removed so the Link template had nothing to "Key" on. All is now right in the world.

 

Thanks for your help!

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,705
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 8 of 8 (445 Views)

Re: Link Template does not appear

09-28-2012 11:28 PM in reply to: torentrue

Without IDs drawn, there's only one way to link to the DB records, i.e. by means of the Object Data: what you see if you check the properties of a closed poly?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.