AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
bethanth
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-13-2002
Message 1 of 4 (203 Views)

linetype with solid dash in middle

203 Views, 3 Replies
11-12-2002 10:47 PM
I am working in Map 2.0.
I have a map that shows highways as having two parallel lines with a solid dash in the middle. By solid, I mean it is the width of the two parallel lines, but is dashed.
The two parallel lines list as LWPOLYLINE width a 0 linewidth. The solid, dashed line lists as a LWPOLYLINE with a width of 7.5 and length of 15.
I'm trying to find this linetype, or figure out how to build it. I can email anyone a sample if needed.

Thanks, Beth
New Member
olaszlo
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-09-2004
Message 2 of 4 (203 Views)

Re: linetype with solid dash in middle

07-09-2004 05:39 AM in reply to: bethanth
Hello Beth,
I am interested in this linetype or the solution of your problem.
Hope to get answer.
My email: orosz[at]mafi.hu
Distinguished Contributor
schroedera
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎01-28-2004
Message 3 of 4 (203 Views)

Re: linetype with solid dash in middle

07-09-2004 01:35 PM in reply to: bethanth
I've tried to simulate that linetype before, but to the best of my knowledge, a single linetype that would create what you're after isn't possible in AutoCAD. In MAP2005, you could use a display style to get something close to it. A typical linetype definition is a series numbers representing pen-up/pen-down, not offsets, etc. One other possible route that I looked into, but found to be too much trouble, was mlines. Good luck to you, but I don't expect you'll find a convenient answer.
Distinguished Contributor
cadman009
Posts: 336
Registered: ‎12-17-2003
Message 4 of 4 (203 Views)

Re: linetype with solid dash in middle

07-12-2004 07:09 AM in reply to: bethanth
one thing before you go too far with making an mline definition is that mlines won't do arcs. if you want your road to have too many arcs the mline is pretty much a waste of time. i don't know if it's possible to query the road and get it to display the way you want with thematic mapping. i haven't tried that yet. the way i've always done it is just to do a polyline for the fill with the width you want and then to offset the road edges to a separate layer with xoffset.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!