AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
cakey
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 1 of 12 (595 Views)

.Layer files and oracle database problem

595 Views, 11 Replies
05-31-2011 07:34 AM

Hi

 

I have just installes Map3d 2012 on a new windows 7 machine and connect to data using oracle! I have some .layer files that are stored on my server which worked perfectly in 2011!

 

The problem I have now is when I use Load layer from the task pane I receive an message that reads........

Failed to open FDO connection

ORA-01005: Null password given: Logon denied

 

I can log in to my oracle database which gets rid of the error but no data is bought in! Also if I try to connect with query (polygon region on Map) from data connect (polygon region on Map) no data shown, just a red polygon where the data should appear!!

 

I am new to map3d so any help at all would be greatly appreciated!!

 

 

New Member
carlalford7009
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 2 of 12 (534 Views)

Re: .Layer files and oracle database problem

06-29-2011 05:21 AM in reply to: cakey

Hi,

Did you ever manage to resolve this issue as I am now getting exactly the same problem.

thanks Carl

Active Member
scartlamy
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-17-2010
Message 3 of 12 (439 Views)

Re: .Layer files and oracle database problem

10-02-2012 08:16 AM in reply to: carlalford7009

The problem seems to be the same since AutoCAD 2011 : I'm in ACAD Map 2013 SP1 and I can't load .layer files which use Oracle database. However, that works perfectly in 2009.

 

It looks as if AutoCAD loads the layer, but without connecting to the database. If you go in the connections manager, you'll see under Oracle the database name used in you layer file.

If you click on it and then "connect", the layer will load immediately.

 

Does anybody know a workaround to automatically connect on .layer load ?

Valued Contributor
luc.vanlinden
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎03-23-2012
Message 4 of 12 (287 Views)

Re: .Layer files and oracle database problem

08-20-2013 01:30 AM in reply to: cakey

Still an issue on 2013.

 

Does anyone know how one can actually "connect" to the oracle fdo connection which has the stored password, using teh workflows?

 

tx

 

Luc

*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 2,407
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 5 of 12 (284 Views)

Re: .Layer files and oracle database problem

08-20-2013 01:47 AM in reply to: luc.vanlinden

 

Hello from France

 

I haven't any MAP 201X + Oracle ready to check my proposal, so sorry if it doesn't run !?

 

As far as I know (remember in fact), if you load a DWG or DWT with already a VALID (Login+Pswd = OK) FDO Connection (or many) to the Oracle Schema/User  then you can load other .layer files (to the same Schema/User) without problem !

 

So with a sample Rectangle (in Spatial Oracle format) around all the project, it's OK ...

 

Bye, Pat

 

 

Bye, Pat ( Supporting Troops )
If you are happy with my answer please mark "Accept as Solution" and if very happy please give me a Kudos (Compliment) - Thanks
Valued Contributor
luc.vanlinden
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎03-23-2012
Message 6 of 12 (264 Views)

Re: .Layer files and oracle database problem

08-21-2013 01:53 AM in reply to: braudpat

Hi Pat

 

Thanks for your input. Came to the same conclusion that only if the connection was saved with the drawing the connection will be "automatically" connected/opend/logged into.

 

However when loading a layer (which contains all the connection details) into a "blanck" drawing , there is no quick way to the actually load the data or connect to the datastore.

 

Not via the command prompt, not via the workflow actions. The only way, as far I know, is having the user got through the connect pallette and have him to press the connect button, or via a .net implementation.

 

To my opinion again a missing basic feature.

 

Luc

*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 2,407
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 7 of 12 (253 Views)

Re: .Layer files and oracle database problem

08-21-2013 02:38 AM in reply to: luc.vanlinden

 

Hello

 

I almost always have a rectangle in each Oracle User/Schema around my project !

Because it's give me a kind of boundary ...

 

But you can too, give all Infos into the .layer :

Login/Pswd are in clear into the XML file but for Reading only Infos from Oracle, it's not critic !!!

 

<Provider>Autodesk.Oracle.3.0</Provider>
<Parameter>
<Name>Username</Name>
<Value>READER_ALL</Value>
</Parameter>
<Parameter>
<Name>Password</Name> <Value>READER_PSWD</Value>
</Parameter>
<Parameter>
<Name>Service</Name>
<Value>GIS</Value>
</Parameter>
<Parameter>
<Name>DataStore</Name>
<Value>WATER</Value>
</Parameter>

 

So I use this solution for Readers only !

 

Bye, Pat

 

Bye, Pat ( Supporting Troops )
If you are happy with my answer please mark "Accept as Solution" and if very happy please give me a Kudos (Compliment) - Thanks
Valued Contributor
luc.vanlinden
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎03-23-2012
Message 8 of 12 (248 Views)

Re: .Layer files and oracle database problem

08-21-2013 03:17 AM in reply to: braudpat

Pat

 

If you open a new blank drawing (without predefined connections) and load that layer file, will your connection be opened while doing so? Or do you have to go through the connect pallette.

 

If we load such a layer file, we get the fdo - Oracle error message as described earlier Null password given.

 

tx

 

Luc

*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 2,407
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 9 of 12 (244 Views)

Re: .Layer files and oracle database problem

08-21-2013 04:16 AM in reply to: luc.vanlinden

 

Hello from France

 

1) Have you before doing a test connection with the Login dialog box ?

Yes/No ?

 

2) Then in a blank DWG, have you tried this king of .layer XML file

which includes Login/Pswd/Schema Infos as I said into my previous msg ?

Yes/No ?

 

Sorry I am in holidays without any PC connected to Oracle ?

 

Bye, Pat

 

 

 

Bye, Pat ( Supporting Troops )
If you are happy with my answer please mark "Accept as Solution" and if very happy please give me a Kudos (Compliment) - Thanks
New Member
pberkers
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-19-2011
Message 10 of 12 (110 Views)

Re: .Layer files and oracle database problem

05-02-2014 04:47 AM in reply to: braudpat

Hello,

I'm running into the same problem: 'null password given' error, when importing layer file (with correct login credentials in it, so username AND password).

Manual login with Login dialog box works fine.

 

Using AutoCAD map 3d 2014 32 bit, Oracle client Standard 11.2.0.1 (as required).

 

Is there yet a solution for this problem?

 

thanx, Pim

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.